Thursday Doors & 13 STREET SHOTS (2020 Countdown Day 12)

Hello Readers – To join in with Norm’s Thursday Doors (here) I have some doors to share with a street photography post. 

1) Getting read to one the umbrella – the rain just started

 __

2) Smile through the door…

 

3) This smile made me smile – linking to Trent’s Weekly Smile (I also like the lines and down view in this shot – and this might be my favorite photo from today’s images).

 

4) This is my second favorite photo today – not sure why – maybe the diversity of four subjects – the diverse trees- age shiny black car – the smoker – the center young man and his attire – 

 

5) This is my third favorite photo of today’s street shots. Kind of like the way the person is tucked away – and then the planter/tree and pillar are all one with him. Pieces of benches on both sides – the organic feel of the fall foliage (taken November 23rd – so we have the colors a bit longer than some upper states…) and then the geometric feel of the cement tiles.

 

6) Linked to Pull Up A SEAT
6B) Also for XingfuMamma 🙂
7) Most of the photos today are from VIRGINIA – however this one was taken in Florida – at our hotel – while we were there visiting my step-daughter.

HERE ARE THE REST OF TODAY’S STREET SHOTS.

CLICK ON THE IMAGE TO SEE THE LARGER VERSION. 

_____________________________________________________________

In closing – can you guess when this photo was taken?

a. 1980’s

b. 1997

c. 2018

The answer is below the image

This photo was taken in 2018 – at my cousin’s house in Tampa, FL. We were chatting and he told me to make sure I gave him my latest number (some of us change our phone numbers and emails – and some of us don’t – wink). So when he handed me this rolodex card – I laughed – and had to get a photo. They still use a rolodex even though they have smart phones too. Good for them – it was just a blast from the past. And I still have a book type of address book. 

 __

 

__

  • Thanks for dropping by.
  • Any thoughts on the street shots?
  • Have one you like? My top ones are 3, 4, and 5 – and then 10 and 11 – but I like them all for different reasons, which is why they made it to a post. 🙂 
  • Do you still use a rolodex or paper phonebook? 

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.


36 thoughts on “Thursday Doors & 13 STREET SHOTS (2020 Countdown Day 12)

  1. Some great shots. I am awful at street photography. The best I have done is as a tourist, but even there I feel paranoid. As to address books, I think paper is still best for some things. Yep, I’m a computer professional, but…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. thanks for sharing your fav (7) and cheers to the address book – and I just got mine out to send a few holiday cards this weekend
      happy holidays to you

      Like

  2. It makes me sad that in so many street shots, many people are on their phones. Get off those phones and look around you. Enjoy people, life, nature. Pay attention to cars that are going to hit you, babies that want your attention not just you pushing their strollers, dogs that are enjoying their walks. Sigh.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear ya – and they are blocking energy if they slouch – and “Cell Phones, especially smartphones, emit a large amount of EMF radiation and microwave radiation while you are using them.” so people really need to be mindful

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have an address book, but all my phone contacts are in my iPhone. I haven’t seen a Rolodex in many years. I enjoyed your seat photos, especially the illuminated girl. My favourite out of this gallery is the young girl on the escalator. Love her smile and the lights on her trainers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lots of interesting street shots Yvette – I have a binder-style address book and had it for years, but a Rolodex has been a while. I like how you added a wreath to your blog name at the bottom!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I like how you did that Yvette. I had something I wanted to try for a blog post all week.
        I’m sorry i didn’t get back to you – we had several computer fails this week, one at work which gummed up the workday for time-sensitive documents to get out the door due my boss’ impending vacation and then I had an issue with a Windows update on my computer (had the same thing happen last week) … our computer guy has still not put us completely on Windows 10 so I’ve not used the new laptop and asked him to configure it so I can try it out while Robb is gone … I used to be able to do a few mouse clicks and get into work, but with the new interface I cannot. So I apologize for not responding. I want to try today with a little fun on a few photos as well, if it works.

        Like

  5. A lot of folks on their phones…grrrr! Your last shots reminds me that I used to keep all of my favorite recipes written on cards. I was slowly working through the list and retyping them all out into Evernote but never quite finished. I may get back on that project over the holidays and finally finish, so thanks for the reminder 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the way you can tell a story with a candid snap, Yvette. All great, as ever, and I think for me it’s number one that’s my favourite. There’s something about this fleeting moment in time that gives me a warm glow. The lady is about to battle the elements and has her own weapon to defend herself, yet she’s smiling and relaxed while the world is going about its business around her. I wonder where she was going and what she was out and about doing. As for phonebooks, I don’t even know what a rolodex is! I have a little hardback phone/address book called ‘Medieval Gardens’ with lots of lovely pictures in it. Give me paper any day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi…. it was fun to heat you never had a Rolodex – they were address keepers that had a circle component and knob so you could roll – or scroll – your contact cards and I think they were 1980s – and I recall a boss of mine tossing his in 2000…. saying it was old-
      And your medieval address book sounds perfect for you – wonder if it was a gift from someone

      Thanks for chiming in on the photos – I wonder why the lady was smiling too- 😊🌂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well done, Yvette – my address book was a gift from my sister! I do vaguely remember the Rolodex now, but honestly never had one. 😀

        Like

  7. OH! Have to share! My ”snowflake” generation niece (Not poking fun I promise) actually created a calendar with everyone’s birthdays noted for her mother for a Christmas gift and had it delivered to me so I could take a peek at it. There is still hope for the world!!

    Like

    1. That calendar is actually a wonderful idea! And likely comes in very handy.
      Also – I know folks that why the photo calendars made each year and those can be fun – thanks for
      Chiming in 😊📑📆🧮

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.