Microseasons, Timeline & Agism (THIS IS HOW WE GROW now available on Amazon)

Hello Readers,

I love getting an email called “One Good Fact” from Britannica (here)

While putting together the book, This is How we Grow (2023) available on Amazon & Kindle, the topic of “microseasons” was featured from One Good fact. For about 1,000 years, Japanese folks had a calendar with 72 microseasons with names like “Crickets chirp around the door” and “Mist starts to linger.”

I smiled at how descriptive those titles were.  

C – Britannica

 

Microseasons & Timelines (Agism)

The topic of microseasons reminded me that sometimes life can be enriched when we break things down into smaller parts. Rather than two or four seasons, we can look at life with smaller phases. Maybe not 72 seasons throughout the year – but perhaps we can break things down a little more in order to savor the days and enhance engaged presence. 

I started thinking about timelines and how sometimes we really need to break them down. For example, I remember that when children are two years old – that is such a major “year of change”  so we often would say how many months rather than just the year.  There was a huge difference between two years and two months and two years and six months (or two years and 10 months). Maybe it is like that during all of the early years of growing up – and maybe we should look at this during adulthood.

Maybe all timelines need to be reconsidered and the way we look at age (and stage) needs to be approached with more care!

The microseasons topic had me thinking about agism.

I define agism as using age to limit, categorize, or put someone in a disadvantaged state or using age as a deciding factor rather than considering skill, ability, or talent.

I know the topic of “agism” can be very serious; however, for today’s post I am only talking about the informal agism I often encounter. For example, a local musician was thinking that he was too old to still do certain rock music! What? No way – keep on rockin’, dude. He had such limited thinking. I am so glad The Rolling Stones never thought their age could limit their ability to perform their music.  

I am also glad that TobyMac never thought he was getting too old to jam because one of my favorite albums of all time is The Elements, which never would have happened if this steadfast musician thought he had to make more “age-appropriate” music. How would we even define age-appropriate music for him? Sigh…

And if TobyMac tried to change (to become more age appropriate) would he not have partnered with Sheryl Crow to make this nice little version of the Promised Land song:

Satchel Paige noted that “Age is a case of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it don’t matter.”

I like that quote from Paige, a man who never knew his real age and that outlook shaped his approach to age and how he coped with the serious social challenges of his time. 

That leads to mentioning the book, This is How we Grow, which I am the editor and a contributing author with.  When I was first asking for submissions, I was looking for “life-span” growth stories. I wanted to offer stories about change across decades and while that topic still came our way naturally within the chapters, I modified the focus to share  general “personal growth” stories and that helped me focus my chapter.  Rather than write about my father-n-law and the growth I saw he had during his last six years, I was able to write about a short season in our life. It was a bit of a microseason that came with unexpected stress and challenge; however, it also came with silver linings and really great outcomes!

At the height of the recent stress for us at Priorhouse, I thought about looking at my life through microseasons and some fun titles came my way:

  • “The ball and chain of a misaligned realtor”
  • “Enjoyment of hyberboom and house projects”
  • “31 days of drinking liquid CoQ10 from the fridge door to combat stress”.
  • Most authors know that going through tough times can often provide rich content, and so another silly microseason title I came up with was “Painting, and cleaning spilled paint, with a feeling of fecundity.” 

I never used any of those microseason titles, but I ended up closing my chapter with reflection about how easy it is to clean up spilled paint.  Here is a snippet:

“A recent paint spill was cleaned up in less than five minutes. I marveled at how fast it went. The reason I cleaned up the paint so easily, and with little stress, was that I had previous experience. After the gray paint spilled in the guest house, I was stopped in my tracks. The cleaning detour was inconvenient and at first, I was nervous the floor would be ruined. However, I quickly remembered that I cleaned up spilled paint in our last house and knew it was not as bad as it looked.This reminded me of problems in life. Sometimes when things come our way, it might seem more daunting and overwhelming than it really is. I also realized that the experience of moving through trials fortifies us and preps us for handling further trials” (p.232). Excerpt from Chapter 11, Seeing Through by Yvette Prior, in This is How Grow (2023)

 

Thanks for reading today’s post.

  • Have you ever heard of Japan’s microseasons before?

  • Do you have any fun little titles for a microseason you recently experienced? 

  • Are you glad a new month has started? Welcome August 2023!

 

 

.

.

.

.


33 thoughts on “Microseasons, Timeline & Agism (THIS IS HOW WE GROW now available on Amazon)

  1. It’s the first time I heard about microseasons, but I like the concept. There must have been a microseason I missed at some point in my twenties, because it feels like I went from hearing “you’re too young to wear/do that” straight to “you’re too old to wear/do that”. 😀

    Personally, I love the ending you chose. I think the paint metaphor ties everything together perfectly and somehow manages to convey so much about the main point of the book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ana, I know exactly what you mean with the micro season between “you’re too young to wear/do that” straight to “you’re too old to wear/do that” – 🙂
      And thanks for affirming the choice to end my chapter with the “cleaning up spilled paint” little section. At first I was going to have 26 poems – and was thinking about being in sync with Doc Jeff’s chapter because he had 26 poems – but then it felt restrictive to have that self-imposed limit on my chapter.

      So after deciding to share journal entries (modified a bit) eleven entires (not 26!) seems to be just right


      oh and maybe our next microseason is “sharing casually about a very special book called This is How we Grow”

      Liked by 1 person

    2. This is so true for me as well. I had never heard about microseasons (they make great sense to me — I absolutely love ‘crickets chirp around the door’). But I totally recognize being too young for things and then suddenly too old. Where in the heck was the inbetween? It went by in a flash!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for reading, Jennie
      And I was at the pool earlier today and wished I had brought a book with me – I was thinking of your really fun Amanda post!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved reading your “riffs” on micro-seasons and was plunged into a bit of nostalgia remembering the days when I told strangers my sons were 21 months old or some such. Thank you for that, Yvette. 🙂 Also, I need to point you to Mark’s blog at Naturalist Weekly because each Friday he shares info about the micro-season along with haikus. It’s informative and great fun so I hope you can check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Tracy

      Thanks so much for joining me with this post. Glad to stir up memory of the early years – and the month counts (time sure flies by)

      And I just checked out Mark’s site and it looks like a great blog and how cool that he shares haiku and micro season info. Thanks for giving us this resource
      https://nbsmithblog.wordpress.com

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I had not heard of micro-seasons before, but it is rather silly to narrow our seasons down to four (and, as some would say for those of us who live in the southwest, two). Mother Nature is much more subtle – and expansive – than that.

    I loved how you closed your chapter. Whether it’s spilled milk or spilled paint, it’s just not worth the tears.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi – I really like how you mentioned “spilled milk”
      and also, speaking of seasons – I keep seeing Arizona in the news with those high temps – and I
      think of my blog friends – – hope you cool blog friends are keeping cool!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yvette, I love the Japanese names for those microseasons. They have such descriptive names, although who knows why they chose them or what they mean to the person who came up with them. I was nodding along with your thoughts and then I came to Toby Mac. Love me some Toby Mac!! I had no idea that Sheryl Crow was the other singer on the song, although I always preferred the version where he sang mostly by himself. You learn something new every day and now I’m going to bed with that song in my head. Could be worse. It could be a Rolling Stones song. 🙂 I’m amazed at their endurance (although maybe drugs are involved) but I’ve never understood how women could find any of them sexy!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha – your comment has me smiling because their sex appeal is beyond me – but then I never saw David Lee Roth’s charm either! And while I think I like TobyMac’s original version better too – my husband said the singer did not sound like Sheryl Crow at all. I only knew her major hit songs and when we watched the documentary about Woodstock 1994 (here) and Sheryl Crow was super cool – and she handled the bad-mannered crowd with such tact!
      (side note: In 2021, Sheryl released a nice cover of Post Malone’s “Circles” – listen here on your favorite streaming/download service: https://sherylcrow.lnk.to/Circles)

      Oh and I knew you were a TobyMac fan and sometimes I think of you when one of his songs comes on! And seriously – I am so glad that agism did NOT filter TobyMac’s view on making music.
      And regarding the stones, I do believe that one of the members wrote about his needle drug use in a very famous book – anyhow, a couple Stones songs are complete jams (Can’t always get what you want, Beast of Burden, Angie) and maybe next post I will give you a Stones’ song to go to sleep to (kidding)
      Appreciate your comment
      🙂

      Like

  5. I haven’t heard of micro-seasons either, Yvette, so this is really interesting. I like the concept of having more than the usual four seasons. And I love your story snippet with the paint metaphor, which summarizes that we shouldn’t panic. Stay calm and assess because the situation might be less stressful than we think. We’re so good at elevating the stress so unnecessarily. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Lauren, you are so right that we humans can be so “good at elevating the stress so unnecessarily” – and while we do not want to minimize – we do not want to maximize either
      guess it takes balance –
      and cheers to finding new ways to look at the small changes in our life as we all continue to shape outlook (truly a them of the summer for many of us)

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations on the book! And clearing that spilled paint. Just lately I have seen beautiful images on Twitter with what I know realise are descriptions of micro seasons. It’s always a pleasure to find new ways of looking at what we think we know. Thanks, Yvette!

    Like

    1. Hi Maria – another perk of the spilled paint is that the spill led to me having to change colors for my project – I was repainting the front door and when the light grey spilled (I did not realize the lid was not fully on!) I did not have enough and so I used teal instead. And oh my goodness the teal is perfect and I think better than a light grey!
      and your twitter feed sounds interesting and reminds me that social media platforms have such interesting content

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like the colour choice of teal! I can’t follow the trend for grey. In my childhood people used to call it Battleship Grey There was so much of it left after WW2 it was everywhere and people were desperate for colour 😂

        Like

  7. I had never heard of microseasons before, but the idea is charming. My late Aunt Rose used to declare what I guess could be called microseasons, something the folks who grew up in the country did: Blackberry Winter, for the cold snap in spring when the blackberries bloom, for example. Thanks for the memory!

    Like

    1. Hi! It sounds like Aunt Rose had some clever quips and phrases and maybe you should try to round them up into a resource? And side note – I used to have blackberry shrubs and got rid of them after about seven years – then… we noticed that in some fields near our house – there were blackberry shrubs all in the wild there – and wondered if the birds carried the seeds from our shrubs – very likely – and so for three years we picked berries from the wild shrubs and it felt special

      Like

  8. Hi Yvette, micro seasons is a relatively new term to me. I’ve come across it recently on both Selma Martin and Colleen Chesebro’s sites. An interesting post.

    Like

    1. Oh Cindy – thanks for checking out the various posts – and the spilled paint photos should have maybe been included in my chapter – but I decided to not add images – anyhow, I am looking forward to your review post. I am on my way over now

      Like

Comments are closed.