AUTHOR SHERRI MATTHEWS: PRIORHOUSE INTERVIEW & SONGS FROM LUCIUS

Today’s Interview features Sherri Matthews.

PRIOR: Sherri and I have been blog friends since 2014 and she is one of the authors in Lady by the River (2017) here. She will be also be joining us in This is How we Grow (2023) and more information about that book will be coming later this spring.

SHERRI: My name is Sherri, given by my Irish grandmother, apparently, when my parents could not agree on a name. Unusual in England, where I was born and brought up, but not so unusual in California, where I raised my family for twenty years. Today, I live with my husband, and my youngest of three children, in Somerset, England. My mother lives with us in her “Granny Annex” across the garden. We are owned by two black cats, Ed and Olive. I have worked in the legal and medical fields, but writing is my passion, which is what led to my blog, A View From My Summerhouse

PRIOR: We sure had a lot of fun in those early days of blogging. I still enjoy my time in the blogosphere, but the thrill of the early days was unique. 

SHERRI: Oh gosh, yes, how could I forget the fun of those early blogging days! All those years ago, when we met over at my “Paris” post. Your lovely comments sparking a conversation that continues to this day. 

PRIOR: Those early days of blogging reminded me of so many folks, like Restless Jo, Debbie SmythDawn Miller, and Mahesh. Many more folks –  but those were the ones that came to my mind.  I am glad we initially connected over a post about Paris, such a wonderful city, and if anyone wants to check out Sherri’s Paris windows- click here. And Sherri, those were the days we both joined in with a variety of challenges. Times sure change. 

SHERRI: I greatly enjoyed those challenges and miss the fun of them. You are so right about how times change. Writing is an isolating enterprise at the best of times, so yes, I do miss the interaction blogging gives. But I have found what works for me and aligns with my writing goals.  I started writing my memoir in 2013, which was the same year I started blogging: something had to give. At first, I agonised about not blogging. All of the hard work in those early years, networking, making connections, and cultivating friendships – would this disappear forever? Everything “they” tell you not to do with a blog, I did, until my posts shuddered to a stop after my mother suffered two strokes last Christmas. Now, every bit of writing time I can grab is dedicated to finishing my memoir and other writing. 

One spot where Sherri writes. And by the way, when I interviewed Liz (post is here) – she also shared her writing area. I think that from now on I will try to ask more writers to share one of their writing spots. 

PRIOR: Oh yes, the memoir, Stranger in a White Dress. Do you have any advice for anyone writing a memoir?

SHERRI: My advice for anyone writing a memoir is to be kind to yourself. Be kind and revise, revise, and revise some more. And when you have done all that, revise again. Then, and only then, will you truly know what your story is about. Through webinars (and Jane Friedman’s site (here) is fantastic for all things writing, not just memoir, she is my mentor from afar), editorial and agent feedback, I have learned the hard way that knowing your story is one thing, but homing craft is another. Memoir is not about what happened, but about what happened and how it changed you. And how it impacts the reader – that all-important takeaway. Earlier this year, I felt my memoir still needed…something. I enquired and received a full written feedback report from a memoir consultant on the entire manuscript. She confirmed what I suspected: in an effort not to appear too reflective, I had taken out crucial, earlier scenes showing what formed my later and detrimental reactions. Six months and a last, deep dive, I do now believe the memoir is ready for submission. Wish me luck. I had no idea how long writing my memoir would take. Nine years, to be precise. 

PRIOR: I look forward to reading the memoir – when it is ready – because books sure have their own timeline. Well some books must have deadlines – while other projects have flexibility. On your blog, you have this quote that seems to remind us to focus on “doing it” rather than “forcing a time” to finish: “Rise up; this matter is in your hands. Take courage and do it.” Ezra 10:4. 

SHERRI: Yvette, I thank you so much for your friendship and support all these years. All is not lost, I have my tribe on and offline.

PRIOR: I hope that everyone keeps this in mind if they have to meander away from blogging. There are different blog modes. And if anyone wants to follow along the memoir release, the book blurb page is HERE

SHERRI:  Here are two more things to note:

  • The memoir consultant I used is Marnie Summerfield Smith, anyone interested can sign up for her newsletter here: https://www.yourmemoir.co.uk/guide/  She’s UK based and so lovely. I highly recommend her to anyone starting out with memoir or further along and wanting guidance for that final polish, as I did.
  • Also, Jane Friedman’s newsletter: https://www.janefriedman.com/blog/  Gives great access to classes, webinars, blog posts about all things writing, not just memoir. Highly recommended.

PRIOR: Sherri, as I was putting together your interview, a few songs from the band Lucius kept me company. First, you and I both celebrate our marriage anniversaries around the same time each spring. We both found our special man and I think we can attest to the support they have offered us over the years. Such a blessing. Anyhow, my favorite song from Lucius is about “not” finding the right guy –  The Man I’ll Never Find (whew – check out this song – the harmonies are SO good).

And this next Lucius song, Nobody Knows How Loud Your Heart Gets, came to mind after I grabbed some photos from your blog.

PRIOR: One of the photos I grabbed from your blog was of the robin that showed up to comfort you during a time of bereavement. I have had a bird theme come and go in my life too (as many readers know – wink) – and so this special robin HAD to make the interview post.

If anyone wants to read a post that will tug at your heart, and show you Sherri’s signature style with words, check out her post: In The Joy And Memorial For A Friend

PRIOR: Are there any movies or TV shows that you are watching?

SHERRI: Now, Yvette, you know I can’t do this interview without mentioning the Sopranos, right? Well, since then, I have watched it twice more (a few years apart, I should add). And each time, I get more out of it. The nuances, the acting. Tony.

PRIOR: I do still think of you when the Sopranos come up. For example, we paused to peek at a sweet BMW M5 parked outside our hotel last week – and It reminded me of the closing Sopranos season when the son got an M5. Then you came to mind… The little things…..

SHERRI: Yes, the little things. And of course, Breaking Bad. But that was back then. More recently, I absolutely loved Big Little Lies and The Undoing, both with Nicole Kidman, one of my favourite actors. (Spoiler alert: Hugh Grant was particularly good at being quite evil and manipulative, I thought.) Love Reese Witherspoon too. And I love The Crown, though with all the controversy swirling around the Royal Family right now (and of course, the sad passing of our dear Queen), it will be interesting watching how it unfolds. 

PRIOR: Travel bucket list?

SHERRI: Japan, the Northern Lights, and a safari are on my bucket list. I had the privilege of traveling the length and breadth of California with my family in the years we lived there, but I would love to take a Pacific Coast Highway road trip with my husband. Also, traveling through New England is on the list – exploring the covered bridges in the fall, eating lobster on a beach in Maine. And Alaska. 

PRIOR: TBR book? 

SHERRI: Not surprisingly, I have a psychological thriller book on my TBR, The Burning Air by Erin Kelly, my course tutor. Having recently watched The Tudors series with my husband (forgot to mention that above), I am also keen to reread Alison Weir’s The Six Wives of Henry VIII, a fascinating, in-depth history I have yet to compare.  And Dave Grohl’s autobiography, Time Like His. My son and his partner had got me tickets as a birthday surprise to see the Foo Fighters in July, knowing I had wanted to see them for years but never had. But it was cancelled when their drummer tragically died. They then secretly planned getting tickets to the Taylor Hawkins Tribute concert at Wembley in September. A truly incredible event. I finally got to see Dave Grohl play.

Sherri’s husband gave her these flowers.

PRIOR: What is something about you that is not well known?

SHERRI: I  had to think about this one. My husband reminded me that my mother has a record album of 1970s smaltzy lounge music with my face on the LP cover. I was sixteen at the time, an American photographer friend of hers took the picture and sold it. I did it for fun. 

PRIOR: Can you share some of your favs?

SHERRI: Some of my favourite things:

  • Mantra: “One day at a time.”
  • Author: Anne Rule (true crime writer)
  • Sport: Tennis at Wimbledon, Rafa Nadal
  • Food: Roast chicken with Yorkshire Pudding, roast potatoes, lots of vegetables, and gravy.
  • Pets: my black cats and Labrador dogs we once had.
  • First car: a black, rusty Mini, which I adored.
  • Band: Foo Fighters; Song: Comfortably Numb, Pink Floyd; Artist: Monet.
  • Household items: Second-hand piano brought over from California that my middle boy learnt to play on and I learned to play Moonlight Sonata. American-style Fridge/Freezer.
  • Holiday: Christmas is a very special time for me and my family, more so since the pandemic which played havoc on us all. Also, the last two Christmases, my mother was in hospital. So this year, we are praying for nothing to go wrong. We put up a live tree every year and decorate throughout, many of my decorations are from America and hold treasured family memories of years gone by. This Christmas, as always, I will spend it at home with my husband, adult children and partners, and my mother, cooking a very large turkey and all the trimmings, then a Boxing Day buffet the day after.
  • Garden: The rose arch I’ve always dreamed of with a Super Fairy multi-headed climber. It looked a dream this spring, and thankfully didn’t suffer in our awful summer heatwave and drought. And also, during what has been punishing year in many ways, there have been some wonderfully joyful moments. One of which is our resident hedgehog, two years now a regular, hibernating, foraging, nesting. This summer she raised four hoglets in our garden. With the plight of hedgehogs in the UK well known, what a joy to have our own little family of them. And they all survived. The best way to encourage them into your garden is to make a small hole in your front fence, if you have one, so they can go through to the back. And keep it as wild as you can with lots of leaves and shrubs and dark, dank hiding places. They are a gardener’s best friend, devouring insects, worms, slugs and snails. We watch ours regularly on the field camera my family gifted me last year.

PRIOR: What do you do to relax?

SHERRI: For relaxation, I go for long walks with my husband, either by the sea or in the woods.

A pub roast lunch on a Sunday is always lovely.

A cup of tea first thing with my cat, Olive, curled up beside me.

Listening to music. Reading in bed.

A glass of wine in the evenings, watching the latest Nordic thriller…

PRIOR: I know your blog is not active right now, but I like how you still keep it up and available, as a resource, and how you also add posts occasionally (when your MUSE provides inspiration).

SHERRI: Yes, one must let the MUSE lead. And Yvette, I have adopted your view that my blog is on hiatus rather than fading away.

PRIOR: I want to briefly note that the “Asperger’s Syndrome and the Love of Animals” post is your most consistently viewed post. And here is another post from Sherri that I really enjoyed. 

      Regarding the way we blog, I think there are different ways to blog after a foundation has been set. Sometimes all that early work allows us to coast and loosely check in with those we know. We might not build more of a following and we might even lose connections – but all truly is not lost. Blogging could mean posting once a year – or once every 18 months. I guess it depends on our goals and of course, depends on where the MUSE leads. In fact, this MUSE talk reminded me of the MUSE song by Lucius (here).

So let’s maybe pause the interview, have some tea, and enjoy one more Lucius song: 

PRIOR: There is a line in that “Muse” song, about how the “desert needs the rain” – and it reminded me (a little) of your column over at Carrot Ranch – where you write about the interplay of California and English living.

SHERRI: The column is called Memoir Across the Pond (here), which features stories from my Californian past to now living back in England again.  In my articles, I share about experiencing love, loss, and home – from shore to shore, with universal themes that bind us.

The “Words We Know” post has this:

“In America I found joy and heartbreak. People I loved died. I got divorced. I moved back to England with my children and the remnants of our American dream in a shipping container. But America and our life there did not leave us. My husband has observed the unique way, as he puts it, that I interact with my children when we are gathered. I am not aware of it, it isn’t obvious. But it’s intrinsic because it’s who we are.”

Read the full post here

 

PRIOR: Thank you, Sherri, for taking the time to share some of your life with us for this interview. 

SHERRI: Thank you so much, mon amie. It means a lot to be included in the Priorhouse Interview series. I’m not used to talking about myself in such ways. It has been a great exercise in taking stock and evaluating where I am in my writing life, personal goals, and hopes for the future.

PRIOR: I hope that some of what was shared here will enrich others – and maybe even edify those who needed a little lift. Because our stories can do that! We lift up others when we let them into our life. I like how you said this (on your blog) about the power of sharing: “Weaving stories from the past; making sense of the present; giving hope for the future.”

How can we find you online?

SHERRI: My links are as follows, although please keep in mind that I am not very active on any of them at the moment:

 Questions for readers:

  • Is anyone working on a memoir or other project?

  • Were you around the blogosphere in 2014? If so, what was it like and do you have the same approach now?

  • Sherri shared some fun favorites and one that really stood out was the Roast Chicken with Yorkshire Pudding. I have never had Yorkshire Pudding – have you? 

  • Any comments or questions for Sherri?

Thanks for joining us today. To see all of the Priorhouse Interviews  – go here.

REMINDER: The #Dickenschallenge runs until June 9th… Inviting you to read ONE novella (or more novellas) and then chat with us in June (info here) (hosts are Trent, Marsha, and Yvette)

UPDATE: The timing of this post, which mentioned a bit about memoir writing, just so happens to coincide with the start of Jacqui Murray’s A to Z challenge with the topic of Business Memoir: https://worddreams.wordpress.com/2023/04/03/atozchallenge-business-memoir/

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

.

 

 


110 thoughts on “AUTHOR SHERRI MATTHEWS: PRIORHOUSE INTERVIEW & SONGS FROM LUCIUS

  1. Never had Yorkshire Pudding? Yvette, that’s almost a crime 😳. Thanks for the mention. My ears pricked up too at roast chicken and Yorkshires and lots of vegetables and gravy, not to mention Rafa Nadal. Life has moved on for him too! It’s good to hear from Sherri and I noted the recommendations at the end. I have tried to keep in touch on Facebook but that’s not always easy. Good luck with the memoir, darlin. You deserve it ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Restless Jo – yes – have to add on the lots of vegetables and gravy – tot he chicken and Yorkshire Pudding
      and life does move on, doesn’t it – with our blogs and with our walks and even with our food!
      thanks for joining us today. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know what I will make for you Yvette if you ever come to the UK! Yorkshire pudding is made with the same batter we make our pancakes with (more like crepes), but they aren’t sweet, basically flour, milk and eggs. Got to have a very hot oven for them to rise. Oh with all that gravy and vegetables, now it’s lunchtime and I am hungry…!

        Liked by 2 people

    2. Hi Jo! You and I have a way of keeping in touch across the ether, don’t we? I love that Yvette reminded me of your walking challenges, and what fun we had. I seem to be endlessly talking about the memoir – to quote a Foo Fighters song title: One of These Days…ha. And I remember you’re a fan of Rafa too, I was gutted last year when his foot injury played up. And as for roasts and Yorkshires, mmmm. Lovely to chat, thanks so much for dropping in 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That was such an enjoyable post/interview, Yvette and Sherri. I loved the little hedgehog family. We don’t have those creatures here, so they’re especially delightful. Most of all, I enjoyed your discussion of blogging and how it’s changed for Sherri as her priorities changed. I continually struggle to manage my time and energy and balance blogging with other activities. That was insightful. Great interview. Thanks for the fun.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hi D – I remember in the late 1990s when a lot of teens had pet hedgehogs – and how fun it must for
      sherri to have them in the garden.
      Also, appreciate your chiming in about “blog management” and the trio of time, energy, and overall balance. This is why I stopped doing a variety of challenges – I sort of enjoyed them – but then when not doing them – I enjoyed it way more (if that makes sense) – 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

        1. Or maybe we will never find true balance / because maybe the ART of blogging (with unique flair and all that) will always be a a little wobbly…..
          hahaha
          Anyhow / cheers to finding what works for us individually

          Liked by 1 person

    2. So glad you enjoyed it, D, thank you, I hope it helps others who struggle with the age-old dilemma of balancing writing/blogging/life. I struggled so much, but when I let it go knowing I had no other option I found peace in my decision and stopped fretting over what I would probably lose. And no doubt I have lost some connections, but Yvette kept me in her sights and reminded me often, this is a hiatus, not the end. I’m so grateful to her. As for the hedgehogs, yes, we are thrilled, and we have seen her again now she is out of hibernation so perhaps another family of hoglets will be on the way. Let’s see 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

        1. yes, let us all enjoy the spring – lighten up – and enjoy our blogging journeys – with all the bunny trails and rabbit holes that might come our way

          Liked by 1 person

    3. D., you hit on the things I liked best too: my first glimpse of a hedgehog live – how cool is that video?! And the talk about blog management, and also how blogging has changed over the years. All insightful and helpful to me, as it was to you. It was a very good interview.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. What a fun, open interview. I loved the picture of your writing space–we are all so different with that, aren’t we?! And the quote to “focus on “doing it” rather than “forcing a time” to finish”. Great reminder. I am into deadlines, but I really should let the Universe (and God) guide those times.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad you mentioned deadlines –
      because there truly are times when deadlines are crucial. And I once heard that many newspaper reporters
      said their best output was thirty minutes before the deadline. I also know that without setting a date (a loose deadline) for my interviews, I likely would not make time for them – so deadlines are truly an important part of most projects – but with Sherri’s memoir being her first big writing project – with lots of “firsts” – lots of learning curves and self discovery – well it seemed to demand its own timeline.
      Jacqui – thanks for joining us with Sherri’s interview

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Jacqui, glad you enjoyed it, thank you so much 🙂 My writing space has changed now since my summer house became virtual after we moved house. Mostly, I write with my laptop on my, well, lap, in my living room, but I do have a little office with a desk. Yes, I seem to need deadlines. It’s that homework-on-a-Sunday-evening feel, now or never. I know what you mean about letting God!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a fun and wise interview! Thank you, I love meeting new authors and learning about their process and habits. A wonderful review and introduction, I enjoyed the tea break, but I substituted with coffee. Hugs, C

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi – well I am glad you had coffee and I almost wrote “grab coffee or tea” – ha – but guess that was not needed
      I am also pleased to introduce you to Sherri (after D introduced you to moi)
      🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for joining us Dawn. And I probably could make some of the interviews shorter – but I assume that folks can skip around and skim – so I am glad it felt a little in-depth
      wishing you a nice day….
      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yvette, the pleasure is all mine, seriously. Thank you so much for your beautiful presentation, and all the hard work you’ve put in here with the photos, inserts, your personal thoughts, and links (and I know it’s work going through some of my posts searching for quotes, etc.).

      I also the really moving Lucius songs, which were a perfect fit. I love how you drew the parallel with the line “the Desert needs rain”. Reminded me too of a scene in my memoir in the summer of ’79 when I am with my American GI in the back of a Dodge Charger taking a road trip across the Mojave Desert from LA to Vegas overnight, squeezed in the back with beers and an 8-track and among Van Halen and Zeppelin comes the song, A Horse with No Name.

      Watching that landscape zooming by made me feel as if I could have been on the moon – so far from home, but as free as I’d ever felt in my young life (19).

      Ah…see, you have a way of bringing it out… It’s been an absolute delight to chat with your community here and it’s made me feel as if I’ve come home to WP. What a great place it is, because of wonderful friends like you. Simply, thank you, mon amie (can’t remember how to do the heart emojie!!).

      Like

      1. Hi Sherri – your memory of driving through the desert at 19 provides a little teaser for some of the fun experiences we can join you with throughout the memoir. And your backseat memory reminded me of being in the back of some two-door 1970’s car – with my siblings – and Dreams from Fleetwood Mac was playing.

        One of those aha moments where music and setting (with the hippocampus/amygdala) leave us imprinted.

        Also, the desert and rain line did really connect to that too.

        Not sure if you listened to the Never find the man” Lucius song – but there was a ling in there that also whispered to me during in the interview

        “Don’t want it if it’s easy
        But I wish it was, believe me”

        some things are not easy and even if we wish it would be easier – we learn to rebound and develop our grit to taste the victory – which is often much sweeter tasting when we had to push on.
        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh I got chills reading this, Yvette. That line “Don’t want it if it’s easy…” That’s powerful. And so true about victory tasting so much sweeter in the struggle…
          I love Dreams by Fleetwood Mac, a great capture of that era too and for your childhood. The science behind it too, the imprinting of those evocative memories forever…
          Those 2-door cars, and those American cars when I first experienced them in the 70s were huge! My first car was a rust-beaten Mini, but I adored it, though it was tiny! Cheap to run though 🙂
          Thanks again, mon amie. This has been a truly uplifting and rewarding interview 🙂

          Like

      1. well it was not my son’s car that we saw – but ironically son2 did have a BMW that looked just like an M5 – he passed it down to us and we sold it last year – it needed turbo work and we were just “done” with it – partly because it was too showy –
        anyhow, I plan on watching the Sopranos again sometime this year – I only saw it once and it was sporadic – hmmmm

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, some cars are a stop gap, we’ve had a few of those lol. I hope you get to watch the Sopranos again, it gets better every time 🙂

          Like

    1. Thank you so much 🙂 Yvette has put on a superb presentation, I’m blown away by the work and personal touches she’s put into it. I admit to being pretty thrilled with my roses, thought I’ve had plenty of failures and storms along the way – much like writing 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. So nice you two have had a blogging friendship for all these years. I started on LiveJournal where there was a very strong children’s literature community and it was heartbreaking when that site sorta imploded because it sent us in many different directions. But you two are still connected. Brava!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Tracy – it is good to stay connected and I know some bloggers who have meet and greets and they really
      stay connected – and hey – glad they are able to do that – I have not heard of Live Journal but I have heard of Type Pad and a few others – and too bad it disbanded. My early online presence was in teacher groups with Yahoo (remember when yahoo groups were big?) anyhow, it looks like Matt W. sure started something great with WP – and it continues to be strong – even though tech and all social media is changing a lot…. hmmm

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Thank you so much, Tracy 🙂 What a shame about LiveJournal. I started on WordPress not knowing what the heck I was doing, and not knowing how long it would last. Now I see as many articles on the death of blogging as I do on its relevance, particularly for writers. Times are changing rapidly, but it’s good to know that some connections – and friendships – remain. Having Yvette’s support these many years has kept me afloat, a lifeline in the ether.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. It’s lovely to see Sherri here. I enjoyed reading the interview, Yvette! I know the early years of Sherri writing her memoir, finding an agent and things along the process. I appreciated her sharing of the blogging experience and her priorities. Thank you for sharing long messages through FB with me, Sherri. I got busy in my moving and barely keep in touch with my blog.

    To answer your questions, Yvette, as you know, I wrote my memoir. I’ll send you the mini interview soon. I registered my blog in 2013 and wrote one post a year until July 2016 before the blog took off.
    My mother-in-law used to make Yorkshire budding when we got together for Thanksgiving. She passed away early 2022. I found Gordon Ramsay’s recipe and made the Yorkshire pudding for Thanksgiving and Christmas last year (2022). My daugher Mercy and her family liked it.

    Best wishes for Sherri’s writing and may her bucket list fulfilled!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Miriam, how lovely to hear from you, thank you so much for taking the time. I hope all is well with you in your world, though I am very sorry to learn about your mother-in-law’s passing in 2022. How great she used to make Yorkshire pudding and you have carried on that tradition with your family 🙂
      We have a mix of American and British, although we haven’t celebrated Thanksgiving since we moved back, since it isn’t a holiday here. Our turkey is always for Christmas, with a few American specials thrown in, like French bean casserole, which I know isn’t everyone’s favourite, but we love it 🙂
      Yes, I’m sorry I haven’t been in touch lately, I haven’t been on FB for a long time, not since my mother’s strokes in December 2021. I remember well reading about your memoir and huge congratulations on its publication. I hope to be saying that for mine soon.
      We’ll keep in touch, one way or another, all the very best, Miriam 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s wonderful to hear back from you, Sherri. I’m not active on Facebook, just hit and miss. I randomly posted several times on my blog the last six months because of the moving. It was stressful. We packed and stored everything in the public storage when selling our house in California. Then came to Portland to live with my daughter for a month while searching for a new home. After we bought our new home, we lived in it empty for six weeks so that we could return to California to attend Hubby’s niece’s wedding and rent a truck to move. Seeing up the news home and unpacking were stressful also. I’m glad we’re somewhat settled. We’ll take our time to slowly unpack the rest of the stuff.
        I didn’t do it right for the Yorkshire pudding yet. I’ll try other recipes to see how it goes.

        Take care, Sherri. We’ll keep in touch. ☺️

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Likewise, Miriam 🙂 You’ve had a very busy and stressful time, I relate, five years on and still remember all too well the stress of our housemove, stuff in storage, living in a camper van, moving my mother and selling her house…then it all falling through. But it all worked out in the end, phew. Unpacking takes a while, and each new home has to “sing” to you, I find. But so glad to hear you are settled now and slowly returning to normal life.
          As for the Yorkshire puddings, though a simple recipe, they are not easy to cook right and I have had a few flat ones in my time lol. The key is a very hot over and make sure the oil in the bottom of the pan/pans is smoking hot. And don’t open the oven while they are baking. Also, it helps to add a tiny bit of water to the batter. But as you say, it is often trial and error. I buy the frozen ones here, already made and pop in for 5 minutes. A quick but delicious cheat 😉
          Let me know how it goes!
          Thanks, Miriam, you too and for sure.
          Happy Easter!
          🙂 xxx

          Like

    2. Hi Miriam – thanks for joining us for Sherri’s interview and also for sharing about your early blogging days and when it took off.
      The pudding around the holidays sounds like a great connection to your mother and wonderful tradition to bring a little bit of her into the holiday vibe (and condolences)
      Also, Miriam, as you know – I have enjoyed your memoir and will have to share more as to why.
      One of the things is how you noted that cancer was related to gut health and other things.I will share more in my review – but recently we say the Wolverine dude, or bad singer in Les Mis dude, has skin cancer and it IRKED me when he blamed the sun.
      https://nypost.com/2023/04/04/hugh-jackman-issues-warning-to-fans-after-cancer-scare-please-be-safe/

       I do not want to rant - but a pet peeve of mine is when skin cancer is blamed on the sun (and I know many folks who were never in the sun very much and got it) - and then chemical sunscreen poses different risks - but as our largest organ, the skin is a dumping ground for the body and skin health directly relates to overall body health (the terrain) and so in my review of your book Miriam, I am going to mention how I enjoyed some of the wording on that!
      

      and sherri, your memoir seems like it will be much different from Miriam’s – and rightfully so because the beauuty of this genre is the extreme individual approach and outcome!!
      Cheers ladies,

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s a great point to bring up, Yvette, about blaming the sun. I look forward to reading your take on Miriam’s memoir and the discussion.

        Like

        1. Hi Sherri – Miriam’s post is live – here is the link (and no hurry to check it out )
          https://priorhouse.wordpress.com/2023/04/15/the-winding-road-journey-of-survival-book-by-miriam-hurdle-priorhouse-interview/

          and I did not take any side trails to talk about my thoughts on cancer – because the interview already had enough – but I do think that there are some very bad “approaches” to dealing with (or preventing) cancer – and the standard American diet, chemicals, gut health, and lack of sunshine – are overlooked
          sigh
          but it can also be so complex and there are so many variables and I so I always want to tread carefully and not act like
          a “know it all” when it comes to this topic – 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Many thanks Yvette. I will be over there as soon as I’m able, just a quick catch up here for now as I wrap up things before heading home in a day or two. And yes, totally get you on that, and the lack of sunshine is something I ponder. Anyway, as you say, there are times and places for such discussions, and here’s to those! 🙂

          Like

    1. Hi Anita – thank you for joining us for this interview and with the feature image – 😉
      Hope you have a nice weekend

      Like

  7. HI Yvette, how lovely to discover Sherri here. I met her through Charli Mills’ Carrot Ranch Literary blog and read a few of her posts. I haven’t seen much from her recently and this article sheds some light on that. How fascinating that her grandmother named her. Wow, that is amazing. I am writing a bit of a mini memoir about the first six years of my children’s lives with chronic illness for your anthology, Yvette. I hope to get a fair bit more done this weekend.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Robbie, thank you so much for reading when I post, I really do appreciate it. Yes, unfortunately after my mother’s stroke in 2021, my blogging was severely curtailed. I am hoping to get an updated post at the Summerhouse soon. To think in those early years, I blogged 3 or 4 times a week for almost 3 years. Phew, something had to give. It was worth it though, for the great fun with those challenges Yvette mentions. They opened up a lot of doors for me with photo and writing challenges and mostly a lot of fun. Things got a bit challenging along the way, but that’s life, right? Charli Mills has kept me going here and there over at Carrot Ranch with the occasional Memoir Across the Pond contribution. And now, Yvette with her great interview questions here. Anyway, looks as though you are as busy as ever with your writing and I look forward very much to reading your memoir contribution to Yvette’s anthology. Which reminds me … 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  8. Thank you Yvette and Sherri for this interesting interview and relevant thoughts. I am surprised, but of course I shouldn’t be, at how much bloggers share in common. I was here back in 2014. I began blogging on a different site in 2007, but that site host closed and I switched over to WP in 2010. Blogging has been so many things for me: a place to keep up my writing when I wasn’t writing anywhere else, a way to process my thoughts when I’m filled with emotions, a way to catalog what has been going on in my life so I don’t forget. MOST of all, the blogosphere is filled with brilliant communities of like-minded people who find each other. I love how Sherri said she did all the things she wasn’t supposed to do! Me too! I even wrote about it in my “about me” page, that I break the rules. But what happens is that bloggers who are here for honesty and real connections find each other. My friendships in the blogosphere are as real as any with my friends in Oregon. And then, when life somehow curves a little and opens up a path to be able to meet a blogger friend in real life, well that is about as epic as it gets. ❤

    To answer your other questions, I have never tasted Yorkshire pudding. I have changed the way I blog. In the beginning it was more ephemeral, introspective. Often I had no photo at all, just a couple paragraphs of me thinking deeply about something. Now it’s a production, and I take hours to build stories and choose photos. It’s ridiculous now (probably makes my readers crazy). I have always been a sporadic poster; I have never posted daily or even often. I just cannot make the time for it, and that’s ok. The thing I agonize about the most is not having time to read my friends’ blogs. Like you, Yvette, you have been visiting my blog for years and years – thank you! And yes I HAVE begun a memoir, and wrote about 90,000 words, but lost steam and set it aside years ago. Right now I am writing a different book that is much more fun for the moment. It’s a fictional novel based on a newspaper clipping I saw and I’ve also decided to use it as a vehicle to process my grief for losing my mother, who I lost 12 years ago.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Crystal
      I enjoyed your comment so much !
      And I think Sherri will also because you are so right that we bloggers do have a lot in common – and I truly do enjoy following your blog and have your recent one showing us the bridges in Portland (with many extras) reminds me that the blogosphere can be so enriching ((and like you, I wish I could read even more posts from
      The ones I follow – but I enjoy scrolling when I can)
      And Crystal – I seem to recall something very refreshing from you early on…. I am not sure if it is on your about page or was in a post – but I remember reading that you said something about not being here for numbers or trying to amass a huge following
      Whatever it was – I remember feeling a sense of contentment from you without a lust for big numbers of followers ….
      And that is what blogging should be about – as you said in your comment
      “bloggers who are here for honesty and real connections find each other. ”
      And glad to have connected with you and Sherri (and the others that have come and gone and stayed
      😊☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️

      Liked by 2 people

      1. This is all so kind of you Yvette. ❤ Yes, you are recalling something I wrote in my “about me” page. The people I have connected with (like you) have certainly enriched my life.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yvette, you are right, I enjoyed Crystal’s comment immensely. And I love how you have this amazing gift of finding something so positive and meaningful in every post you read. You truly are a shining light in the blogosphere 🙂 And to say, I have been to Portland, on our way up from California to Washington and then on to Vancouver. I would love to explore more of Oregon 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Crystal,
      Yvette is right, I love what you’ve shared here.
      And oh boy, that labour for those posts with photos and links and the hours and hours it takes, then the commenting on other blogs..!
      But yes, it is all about the connections and community, not numbers. I am trying to get traditionally published with my memoir, so I haven’t ever posted any excerpts online from it but for those self-publishing, blogging is a great way to serialise and gain a following from others with similar interests.
      I guess I started mine as a way to journal my writing journey, not having a clue what I was doing. I started using my own photos because I enjoy taking them of nature, wildlife, and the sea, and because I was afraid of copyright issues and didn’t want to use free stock photos. This helped me find fellow photo blogs and the various challenges Yvette mentioned, leading to our connection and friendship.
      So I am incredibly grateful for those early years of blogging, despite the sheer hard work and time put in! And I know what you mean about finding fun in the writing.
      Letting loose in fiction is so therapeutic after writing a memoir. I found writing flash fiction so freeing, not thinking I could write it at all. And it is surprising, isn’t it, how even though it’s fiction, you can work out your grief for your mother (and I am sorry for your loss, it is always there…) in a way that is not so wrenching as in a memoir. I have started a psychological thriller for the same reason, though a different but deep loss I cannot and will not share publicly. But it bears the visceral emotion of it through the protagonist’s eye from a purely fictional perspective. It was Elizabeth Gilbert who said something along the lines of if a reader wanted to know more about the real her, it wasn’t from reading her memoir but from her novels. I totally get that now.
      I will look out for your blog and follow you, once I’m up and running, though, like you, it will be intermittent as always!
      Thank you again, Crystal, lovely to meet you and Happy Easter 🙂
      Sherri x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sherri, what a kind and detailed response. What Elizabeth Gilbert said makes so much sense to me. Good luck on your memoir getting published! I will look for it, when I hear the news. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  9. What an interesting conversation. You asked how things have changed since 2014. My blog dates back to 2006 so I just took a look back. In ’14 I was one of many short storytellers, but since then, poetry has become the dominant genre which is such a shame. Nowadays when I participate in prompts, I’m invariably an oasis of prose in a desert of verse! Back then writing took up much of my spare time, but now it uses up pretty well all of it! Must go, I have a story to write!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Keith! You’ve been blogging a long while. Poetry seems to have taken off, but I do think short stories are on the up also in journals, anthologies and contests. Prompts are great, aren’t they? I especially like writing “to” a photo prompt. Letting loose with flash fiction (the extent of my short storytelling for now) is a refreshing relief from memoir. I have written poetry in the past and had a couple of poems published in an anthology, self-published through a fellow blogger back in 2014. The last one I wrote was a few months after my dad died in 2017. The poetry sort of dried up after that. But then I was focusing 100 per cent on the memoir. As you are on your stories – and I wish you all the best with them!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. This was an interesting and fun conversation, Yvette. I don’t have any plans to write a memoir, but I love the advice: “Be kind and revise, revise, and revise some more. And when you have done all that, revise again.”

    Sorry to be so late. I hope you had a great week and I hope you have a Happy Easter.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I enjoyed this interview with Sherri. I want to go along with her on a walk by the sea or in the woods. In England, how lovely it’d be.

    Is anyone working on a memoir or other project? No memoir or other writing projects… but as for projects around the house, many.

    Were you around the blogosphere in 2014? If so, what was it like and do you have the same approach now? I was around in 2014. Blogs were more eclectic, people were less into challenges and prompts, taking life more lightly than bloggers do now. I have about the same approach, just post less often.

    Sherri shared some fun favorites and one that really stood out was the Roast Chicken with Yorkshire Pudding. I have never had Yorkshire Pudding – have you? I’ve had Yorkshire Pudding and it’s tasty. I may have grown up in the midwest but my mother was a foodie long before such a term existed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ally, I would love to walk with you by the sea and in the woods!
      Thank you so much for reading and commenting. And I hear you with those endless projects around the house! I love your take on blogging back in 2014 and the change in pace now. The rise of social media has changed so much too. Can’t keep up!!
      Love that you’ve enjoyed Yorkshire puddings and how great you had a foodie mother. Mine made homemade lasagna in the 70s. When I told my school friends what we’d had for dinner the night before, none of them had ever heard of it. How times have changed, eh? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. This was an interesting interview with Sherri. I like the idea of how she relaxes with the long walks with her husband and a pub lunch. I have been to England in 1979 and loved many things about it, including the historical buildings and the beautiful gardens. We stayed in a bed and board in Surbiton/Surrey. I am not a regular tea drinker, but did partake the week we were there. Yorkshire pudding was something I have never tried. We had figgy pudding with a sauce on it and this was not because we were Canadians and living in the U.S. since 1966, but a friend of the family was always invited to Christmas dinner so he brought some with him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Linda!
      I loved reading about your visit to England in 1979. That was the year I first visited California, so we might have passed each other in the skies 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the history and gardens, though the pub lunches then were pretty scarce, nothing like they are now, big business. Well…covid put a lot of them out of business tragically. I used to make Christmas (figgy) pudding when I lived in CA for my in-laws from LA. They hated it!!! But my mother-in-law, bless her, had a spoonful in support, until she admitted her distaste. We laughed so hard over that. And I never made it again, as my children also did not like it. Now I by a tiny one just for me and my husband.
      And I am amazed you stayed in Surbiton, Surrey. That is where I was born and where I lived for the first year of my life 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, we might have waved as our planes passed. 🙂 That is funny about the figgy pudding Sherri – being overly polite about something you don’t like is always a good laugh when the truth is eventually revealed. We had an enjoyable vacation in England. We stayed in Mrs. Simpson’s Bed and Board (or Boarding House, not sure of the name now). What a coincidence you once lived in Surbiton, Surrey. I have mentioned to other UK bloggers where we stayed and no one has ever said “I know where that is.” We had breakfast at Mrs. Simpson’s and were on our own for the rest of the day. Funny you mention about the pubs … I traveled with my parents and my mom said she wanted authentic fish & chips for at least one dinner and we might have to go to a pub to get them. We lived in Canada until 1966 and liked the English-style fish & chips there – they are different from over here in the States. Well we found one place, but ended up having most dinner meals at a small Italian restaurant around the corner from where we stayed. (Who goes to England and has Italian food?)

        It was a good location as we took the big black cab to visit Harrods, Madame Tussauds and Buckingham Palace, the Bridge etc. and took day trips to Dover and Canterbury. We had great weather and it was a memorable trip!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Linda- had to chime in and share that I also took a black cab to Harrod’s (when on a High School trip to Europe – and London was such fun)
          – oh and the Italian restaurant you found in England (near your hotel) reminds me that one must stay OPEN to what we find on a trip – and it sounds like you found a great place to eat

          Liked by 2 people

        2. Those big black cabs were so fun for those trips weren’t they Yvette? I felt like we were traveling in a Rolls Royce or a Bentley when it rolled up to take us to the heart of London. That Italian restaurant’s food was awesome!

          Liked by 1 person

        3. Hahah – I had to smile with your comment because our cab rides were squished and bumpy – fun to be all sitting with a “limo” feel
          but not luxurious when we went – but truly a classic English feel – and here is a photo from my 1986 spring trip

          Liked by 1 person

        4. Sounds like you had a great time, Linda! Yes, Surbiton is very familiar to me 🙂 Did you get your fish & chips from a fish & chip shop? They are the best. Growing up in the 60s, they were our one treat for eating out, and they came wrapped in newspaper 🙂 My dad used to run one in Teddington, Surrey. But that’s a whole other story… There are many food items from CA my now adult children and I miss so much, like Mexican food, but when I was there, I missed British fish & chips, as you say, very different here! Italian food is very popular here, so I am not surprised that became your favourite spot. We always take a black cab in London, those drivers have the “knowledge” of every inch of it, incredible. And so glad you had great weather! Hubby and I just took a weekend away to Windsor, it was surreal being able to pay our respects to our dear, late Queen, at rest with Prince Phillip, her parents, King George V1, Queen mother and sister Princess Margaret all laid to rest in the same vault in St George’s Chapel, the very place we had just watched on our TV’s back in September last year. I hadn’t expected to be so close as we filed past, a truly memorable and humbling experience. We felt like tourists in our own country and had a great chat with an Aussie family while waiting in line! And great chatting with you, Linda 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        5. Hi Sherri – yes I believe it was a fish & chip shop, the genuine variety with the newspaper wrapper. We had a place in Canada that served their fish & chips the same way, including with the malt vinegar for the fish. We always went there when we went back to visit my grandmother after we moved to the States. I am still surprised about Italian food being such a hit. I would have gone to pay my respects to the Queen had I lived in the UK. I watched a lot of video coverage on the day of Her Majesty’s funeral and leading up to it. I have been reading about the coronation and the festivities too. It was great chatting with you as well Sherri!

          Liked by 1 person

        6. Hi Linda, yes, we watched it from start to finish on the TV too as it unfolded. So moving, wasn’t it? We were unable to get to London for the vigil, so it was incredible to pay our respects at Windsor Castle, something I hadn’t expected, planned by hubby 🙂 I’m glad you continued to enjoy your “newspaper” and malt vineger f&c in Canada on your family visits. I had family there for many years also, and a friend in Vancouver we once visited from CA by car, camping on the way back at Mount Shasta. That was a trip I will never forget, we stayed one night in Portland then drove right through. Loved it. Ah, great memories. Wonderful to chat, Linda. Take good care! And I’ll think of you next time we go to the “chippy” 🙂 xx

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes – it has been a while now – and thanks for dropping by (and I still remember when
      one of your gravtars said “happy person” – or something like that
      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Well, I loved your interview and felt like I was right there with you somewhere here and somewhere in the UK and definitely am up for that Yorkshire pudding!
    Wow, what a true labor of love your memoir is. I love the early blogging story memories, and how life moves in a pattern of its own, and we take the gifts along our path and remember our friends.
    Great job both of you !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cindy – thank you so much for joining us and I know Sherri will be inspired by your blog and also share in the joy of your new book coming out – and I wanted to link for your “title reveal” post (here) – because you also shared the editor that helped you so much – and so if anyone reading is looking for assistance – they might want to check out editor Ingrid Wilson from Experiments in Fiction: https://experimentsinfiction.com/about/

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Oh it’s always my pleasure and that’s so kind of you to connect us. Thank you so much. You have also been so amazing and helpful. Yes they might and I’ll head there later.. thank you! 🙏🏼

        Liked by 1 person

  14. What a wonderful post with Sherri. Hello Sherri! I really enjoyed reading about yourself here and what a journey it has been for you blogging and writing your memoir. Good on you for persisting writing your memoir even after so many years, and seems like you can see the light at the end of the tunnel. I agree with you that writing can be isolating, and blogging can be a space for writers to connect. I remember your Summerhouse blog was one of the ones I followed about a decade ago 🙂

    I also like reading how you take time away from blogging, like a hiatus. As you said, be kind to yourself as there can be a lot involved in writing especially writing a book, and it doesn’t mean you are fading away from writing or blogging. So agree with that, and that’s how I have been approaching my blog these days – blogging much less and visiting blogs whenever I can. I am currently working on my first book about my life in Australia and trying to ‘make it’ as a writer. It’s definitely taking years but I guess that is part of the journey.

    I also like roast potatoes. Very easy to whip up for any meal so long as you have potatoes and a stove or oven. Thank you Y for sharing this interview 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Mabel, thanks for your comment and I remember (at some point) long how you drew boundaries with blogging had that Thursday posting schedule for a long time. And our blogging approach sure does need to evolve because our life does…

      Like

      1. That is a good observation, Y. I did have a Thursday posting schedule for a while. I still post on Thursdays but not as often. Blogging is certainly a journey 🙂

        Like

    2. Mabel – I also wanted to add a link to your April 20th post, when you really feel at home – because it was one of my favorite blog posts of the year so far – just so good with those unfolding photos and various thoughts – and was the kind of post that stayed with me (as I mentioned to you as well) – and so if anyone reading wants to explore – here it is:

      https://mabelkwong.com/2023/04/20/where-do-you-really-feel-at-home/

      Like

      1. That is so kind of you to say, Y. Thank you so much. It was a post with a different kind of writing, a different kind of flow that I let myself go along with. Sometimes blogging is a bit like that, you blog as you feel like it and see where it takes you 🙂

        Like

Comments are closed.