Assessing Shadows (Friday Fictioneers)

This week’s Friday Fiction Prompt is this tree photo by Sandra Crook. I imagined an olde person sitting in their yard – maybe reflecting and thinking….

Assessing Shadows (fiction word count: 100)

The shadow covers half the yard

as the southern sun pulls back

Another winter season approaching

as fall eases out

Such quiet moments in my older years…

Is this a gift of old age?

to have time to ponder shadow sizes

reflecting on dozens of winters

most of which were good

Is this a gift of knowledge?

To have a mind that can grasp change

and understand a 23.5 degree tilt.

Is this a gift of wisdom?

to find contentment

while rotating with seasons

Is this a gift of God?

feeling strong and grounded

like an old tree

established

solid

.

To join in or to see more Friday Fiction posts for the photo prompt – go HERE.

.

.

.

.

.

 


34 thoughts on “Assessing Shadows (Friday Fictioneers)

  1. Beautiful reflective poem, Yvette! There is always something mysterious about tree trunks like this that makes me stop, ponder, examine…perhaps I’m getting old?!😀😀 This one has seen so much, you wonder at the stories it has to tell!

    Liked by 5 people

    1. Oh I know – the people that have walked below this tree – the children that have swung from it – but I did have to warm up to this tree a bit (it is a prompt) maybe the black Oozing lines out me off – but it grew on me – 🌱🌿☺️

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Glad it grew on you…I thought of this post whilst out on a walk later in the day. In this parkland there is a 900 year old oak tree and they have a diagram of the events it would have seen…wondrous to think. It has a huge gaping hole in the middle though…spooky. Great response to the prompt!😀🌳

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Beautiful reflective poem! A great one!!! I echo Annika’s words. I like this part in particular :
    “Is this a gift of wisdom?

    to find contentment

    while rotating with seasons”.

    It is is hard to gauge the size of the tree there but I think it is an old one and it is a big one. I think it can make you feel protected when you are under it.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Well I am not sure how old the tree is and I almost passed on writing for this prompt – the tree did not speak to me – I then thought of writing about the owner of the house – looks like maybe it was built in 58? And then – well – mini story came – anyhow you are right – hard to gauge the size and age – looks super old – eh?

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I love trees! I always tell my friends that trees are like people. Each one always look different even though they come from the same family, just like people! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Nice, amigo 🙂 “…as fall eases out – such quiet moments in my older years” – very reflective, tugs at my heartstrings. My favorite: “…to have time to ponder shadow sizes – reflecting on dozens of winters – most of which were good.”

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.