Throwback Thursday (t-ball/baseball & satchel paige quotes)

Throwback Thursday - t-ball and clematis
I did not even remember this shot, but looking at it this week I enjoyed the air beneath his feet – the expression on his face – and the squished shadow.

 

Throwback Thursday (t-ball/baseball & satchel paige quotes)
The above shot is my older son, #4, with the bat in hand.  I like that photo because it reminds me of how much I did not care for this sport (for them).  All the steel, slow moving hours, and dry dirt…. Anyhow, in the bottom photo –  this simple little single layer cake is one that we made (well mostly me at that time) for the end of the  season team pool party – the Nerds and “Now & Laters” were the perfect design toppers.

 

 

 

I like the day and age we live in because of all the CHOICES we have.  For example, when it comes to sports, our boys had to chance to “try” many different sports – to see which one fit their liking – and to see which ones fit their physical disposition and gift mix.  Also, exploring different sports allowed us to see which sports fit the parental liking as well – because “if mom and dad ain’t on board –  ain’t nothin’ happenin’” – 🙂

~~~

The season that my boys played baseball was a success, but we are also grateful that everyone decided this was NOT the sport for our family.

 

For this post, I also wanted to share some quotes from the great Satchel Paige.

 

“Just take the ball and throw it where you want to. Throw strikes. Home plate don’t move.”

“Money and women. They’re two of the strongest things in the world. The things you do for a woman you wouldn’t do for anything else. Same with money.”

“Work like you don’t need the money. Love like you’ve never been hurt. Dance like nobody’s watching.”

“Don’t eat fried food, it angries up the blood.”

“Ain’t no man can avoid being born average, but there ain’t no man got to be common.”

“There never was a man on earth who pitched as much as me. But the more I pitched, the stronger my arm would get.”

 

My favorite quotes from Satchel Paige have to do with age – because did you know that his real birthday was not known – it is estimated that his birthday was on July 7, 1906.  And so his famous “age” quotes have more depth when you realize that he did not even know his birthday.  It also makes me less of a baby when it comes to wanting to know more about when I was born.  You see, my mom had a big litter of kids (she was Catholic at the time) and well, there are fewer photos of the last couple of kids (moi) as well as less details.  But at least I know the actual day!  And while I do not like big birthday parties for myself – I do celebrate having “another birthday” because life is such a gift.

 

Here is what Satchel Paige said about age:

 

“Age is a question of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.”

 

“How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?”

 

~~~

 

More on Satchel Paige HERE  –  and his children say he was a loving father….

“I wish you guys had gotten the chance to meet him,” Robert Paige said. “He could tell stories all day. And I had to sit there and listen to him.”

 

 


25 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday (t-ball/baseball & satchel paige quotes)

  1. My son is a senior in high school and this is his last year of baseball. Definitely a game that can be very slow moving. My hubby was a hockey player so you can imagine how much patience he had at these games. My younger son is playing soccer and basketball, little more action. What sports did your boys decide on?

    Like

    1. Well thanks for dropping by – and looks like we have lots in common – my boys went with your younger son’s choices – soccer and basketball – but we also had 4 years of lacrosse (I pushed the final year of that sport and kinda regret it – but a story for another time) – 🙂

      And you say your husband did hockey? well my nephews in Ontario, Canada are big into hockey – played since they could walk…. but it looks like the big baseball people in out family are my husband’s brother’s boys – they are still young – but looks like that is their sport all the way.
      🙂

      Like

      1. Hey – I just checked out your blog and really like your posts – I got a feel for your taste of color – and well, looks bueno…. 🙂

        Like

  2. Wonderful throwback! I love the two photo of their baseball playing. My daughter used to play tennis and volleyball.

    Like

  3. Great quotes and loved the photo’s Yvette. They do grow up so quickly. 😀

    Like

  4. I know nothing about baseball, but I liked that quote, about how old you feel you are. Everybody I’ve asked thinks they’re 10 years younger. That’s a great feeling, thanks!

    Like

    1. Hi Elaine – and glad you like the quote. 🙂

      Also, I am not sure about you – but I felt very “old” when I was 20 – very! But now – well in a way I kinda feel younger than I am – so maybe I would answer the way that the people responded to you….. 🙂

      Like

      1. I certainly wanted to feel old when I was 20. I wanted to be 26 sophisticated and world weary. Now I’m 55, but luckily still not world weary. Thanks!

        Like

  5. 🙂 like the cake photo – and your comment of “slow moving hours, and dry dirt”..that reminds me of my days when I was still playing softball :)) As a player we were hardly notice how slow the game could be until I watched the game myself :)) Thanks for the quotes too..good choice Yvette! Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

    1. Thanks Indah – and cool that you played softball. Also, the time usually goes faster while playing versus watching (or working versus waiting). Thanks for taking the time to comment – and hope you have a great weekend too – 🙂

      Like

  6. I had heard a couple of the great Satchel Paige’s quotes before but didn’t know he had so many…brilliant ones. Indeed, quite a bit of wisdom! I loved that shot of your son “floating”. Excellent!

    Like

Comments are closed.