Introducing THIS IS HOW WE GROW – a book for Perspective Taking

Hello Readers,

THIS IS HOW WE GROW was released in July 2023. 

PRIOR POSTS ABOUT THE BOOK

  1. Book Release & General Intro HERE   7-24/2023
  2. Author Miriam Hurdle’s Interview  7-27-2023
  3. Lauren Scott Reading a snippet of her chapter 7-29-23
  4. Yvette Prior’s post about her “Cleaning Up Spilled Paint” (in Chapter 11) in a blog post about Microseasons and Agism 8-1-2023
  5. Post linking Dan’s review and three comics 8-2-2023
  6. Priorhouse post sharing about Cindy Georgakas’s book review here
  7. Priorhouse post sharing Carol Balwyder’s review of This is How we Grow here 

 

Brief Overview. 

This is How We Grow has 13 authors providing poems and personal stories to help cultivate empathy and shape outlook through perspective taking. 

Here is the list of chapter titles and authors:

  • Chapter 2: Dragonfly by Ana Linden
  • Chapter 3: Untangle & Learn by Mahesh Nair
  • Chapter 4: Made My Day by Sherri Matthews
  • Chapter 5: Beneath by Trent McDonald
  • Chapter 6: Ground Zero by Jeffrey D. Simmons
  • Chapter 7: Combatting Caregiver Burnout by Mike F. Martelli
  • Chapter 8: There’s No Return to Sender by Robbie Cheadle
  • Chapter 9: Numbers Lie by Lauren Scott
  • Chapter 10: Grateful & Graceful Grandparenting by Miriam Hurdle
  • Chapter 11: Seeing Through by Yvette Prior
  • Chapter 12: Winding Road of Writing by Mabel Kwong
  • Chapter 13: Blogging & Rekindling by Marsha Ingrao
  • Chapter 14: Right and Wrong by Cade Prior

     Each author in this book hopes that you will enjoy the personal narratives

offering unique outlooks and ideas about assumptions and cultural

differences and similarities. We hope these stories transmit important

information and values from one individual to the next because this is how we grow.

Ana Linden
Mahesh Nair
Sherrie Mathews
Trent McDonald
Jeffrey D. Simmons
Mike F. Martelli
Robbie Cheadle
Lauren Scott
Miriam Hurdle
Mabel K wong
Marsha Ingrao
Cade Prior

Book Mini Intro: 

Stories have allowed human to transmit ideas, beliefs, and behaviors throughout history. The underlying premise of this book is that we can enhance growth and develop empathy by understanding the perspective of someone else. 

Perspective refers to how we see and think about something as well as what we choose to focus on. Our perspective, or viewpoint, is impacted by mental filters, which infuse and sieve how we make sense of the world. There is a gap between what is and what we know or think something is. Learning about how others see the world can help us fill that gap and possibly expand our ability to empathize. 

Perspective Taking (from the book’s intro)

  • Perspective-taking is a crucial part of ongoing personal development because it augments life experience with other types of learning.
  • Humans can grow when they take the time to explore perspective-taking, which can be done through hearing stories, reading essays and prose, or watching shows that allow sharing of cross-cultural experiences.
  • Perspective-taking can help humans develop compassion and concern for others because it can introduce them to diverse viewpoints and take them away from only their personal experiences.

It is not a guarantee that perspective-taking, that can happen from reading stories and poems in this book, will enhance outlook or augment empathy; however, making time to explore someone else’s story can open the door to deeper understanding and healthier connecting. We hope you check out this book and then let us know what you think about it. 🙂 

This Is How We Grow is available here on Amazon & Kindle

.

.

.

.

.

.

 


54 thoughts on “Introducing THIS IS HOW WE GROW – a book for Perspective Taking

  1. I recognise most of those names, Yvette, so I know there’ll be some good offerings. It’s been a successful venture to collaborate like this so well done to you for being a driving force.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you, Jo! Yvette worked so hard to put this together! It’s an enormous job to coordinate with 13 people, communicating and editing back and forth. She did it.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Ana. I enjoyed working with you again and I feel so good about the way the book came out. I hope readers find some helpful takeaways.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations on the successful publication of this book, Yvette. You’ve been working very hard. You did it in the midst of your moving. I would be very hard to concentrate on the tasks. It was especially hard to pick up the pieces when you learned that you’d self publish it. Thank you so much for taking me on and fitting me in. It’s fun to be part of this anthology. If you want to do it again in the future, count on me to share more responsibilities.

    Like

  3. Congratulations on the publication, Yvette. This is a wonderful achievement and you should be very proud of yourself. The time it must have taken to coordinate and help us who needed another editing eye on our pieces. Self-publishing is always easier than it looks, so many things to note and keep track of. It is such a pleasure to contribute a piece to the anthology and thank you so much for having me. Great to work with you again 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yvette, you have done it! Yay! thanks you for including my story, and for encouraging me so much along the way. I’m meeting with an Amazon editor about starting the process for Story Chat. It takes hours to bring so many different authors’ stories together in a consistent format. (I spent hours making quotations match, LOL) I’m so proud of you and what you accomplished, and I hope the book does well. I’ll be ordering some print copies to give away. I’m so excited! 🙂

    Like

    1. Marsha, as noted before – I really love your poem “perspective as a bridge” and other parts of your chapter – and I look forward to sharing this book!
      I also look forward to story chat getting put into a book and think it will make a nice resource as well.
      have a good day and thanks for the nice comment

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, Yvette. BTW I never got an official biography or picture for your story on my blog. I copied the Amazon profile for the Story Chat book. If you want to send me something else, no problem. I had my first meeting today and I have a lot to do to get ready for the next one. I feel confident that they are going to be great to work with.

        Like

  5. Yvette, this is a wonderful and conversation building book focus!! Congratulations on getting it published and all the hard work you invested.
    I just read the mini interview for Miriam Hurdle, and it was a eye opening snapshot of what to expect in this book.
    Congratulations again!! I’ll be ordering my copy soon. 🙂

    Like

  6. What an interesting topic to explore. No doubt this book covers all angles, how could it not with so many great bloggers involved? Oddly enough I often say “it’s all about perspective” when I’m talking with people in real life. Because, you know, it is.

    Like

  7. Congratulations Yvette! I’m delighted for you and the other authors on this amazing book. Loving the read so far💕💕💕 Well done my friend💞

    Like

    1. Cindy – thanks for all of your support
      and to think that you were almost one of the contributing authors – but you had your own book at a crucial stage and maybe we can work together some other time.
      But we do appreciate your feedback and I am on my way to your recent review post right now. How exciting

      Like

  8. I recognize so many or the writers/poets contributing to this anthology. I really can’t wait to dive in. Thanks so much for these insights into the book. I love it’s theme of providing opportunities to step into another’s shoes. Congrats to all the authors.

    Like

  9. Thank you, Yvette for sharing my post. I so very much appreciate it. You’ve done an amazing job with this collection of wonderful writers (you included!).

    Like

    1. Carol. thank you very much for your visit here and for including our book in your summer 2023 reading.
      What a fun little trio of books to go in and out of – and as noted here – the way you resented the three books had a nice flow.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.