Sombrero Tower South Carolina South of the Border (Day 12 of 365 Days of ART)

south-of-border
This artsy tower Sombrero sits high in the sky in SC. Fort Pedro Fireworks, El Toro gas, Mexico Shop and motel.

south-of-border-2

When you drive on I-95, there are MANY ads for this “South of the Border” tourist attraction.

 I stopped there once – when my boys were little – and it was gross.  

However, we do like passing the giant ART sombrero tower.

It has become a “mile marker” to gauge where we are at with our trip.  

For example, my step-daughter just moved to Florida, with her awesome spouse, and my husband was on his way back from visiting with them and I texted him to see where he was it on the drive – He sent me this:

sc-sob

Then he sent me this Isaac gif (because last month we all watched some episodes of Love Boat and we are still cracking up at some of the scenes):

img_1752

ph-art-4

 

.

.

.

.

.

.


12 thoughts on “Sombrero Tower South Carolina South of the Border (Day 12 of 365 Days of ART)

    1. Well I watched it sometimes as a kid – but we were cracking up when we watched it because the employees of the ship mix with business with pleasure and then seeing so many famous oldies was fun….
      🚢

      Like

  1. I have traveled past that landmark many times, always tempted to stop but never made the time to do so. I bet there are so many like us that talk about it fondly as a marker to where we are going to or coming from. Enjoy your time away.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh yes, this place is the land mark and I also used to tell where I am on the way to Fl. too although it does not mean it is close to Fl by any mean. It just tells it is about to leave NC state.

    I am always amazed by the number of their adds that were placed before reaching the place. Those adds make you think the place is such a great one but once you visit it , the place is just running down. I have not visited them anymore.

    Like

Leave a Reply

