THIS IS HOW WE GROW – Review by Carol Balawyder

Hello Readers,

THIS IS HOW WE GROW was released in July 2023 and Carol Balawyder reviewed the book on her blog here: 

Three Very Different Books

Thoughts about Carol’s Post

I follow other bloggers who combine book reviews into a single post and I really like how the combined book reviews come out with variety and flavor. Carol’s combined review post was excellent.

Carol titled her post, Three Very Different Books, and then she shared about the three books she recently finished reading.

The first two books in Carol’s review post were:

  • Ever So Gently by Lauren Scott – here and Carol noted that “Lauren Scott shows that she is fearless in exposing her love, her joys, her sorrows and her dreams.” Oh and I have a book review coming for Lauren Scott’s book.
  • A political thriller, Dead Dry Heart by Toni Pike – here –  and Carol noted that she enjoyed the Australian setting of the dessert and big cities and particularly was drawn to its political background.

Then Carol featured our book, This is How We Grow -here –  noting that the book has a collection of entries that “spans a wide range of topics through poetry, essays, and fiction with each writer contributing to thought-provoking ideas on perspective-taking. Each very personal. Each profound in their own unique way.”

Carol also gave a specific example for each chapter in the book. And as the editor of this collection, I was curious to see which nugget Carol chose to share. I smiled with her examples and feel as if she was able to pull out perfect little snippets that aligned with the themes of each chapter. It was so interesting to read. 

I hope you get a chance to check out Carol’s post and thanks for joining me today.

THANK YOU SO MUCH, CAROL, FOR READING AND REVIEWING THIS BOOK

***

***

Side Note: Carol wrote a book that I am going to check out this month – it is called The Lilac Notebook. 

Ana Linden’s post for The Lilac Notebook is here. I like how Ana leads us into the post review:  “The Lilac Notebook, Carol Balawyder’s latest novel, is nothing like any of the murder mysteries I’ve read before. But one can expect it, even when not already familiar with the writer and her unmistakable style. After all, how often is a murder solved by a woman who suffers from Alzheimer’s disease?”

The Lilac Notebook is available on Amazon and Smashwords.com.

Yvette Prior
Ana Linden
Mahesh Nair
Sherrie Mathews
Trent McDonald
Jeffrey D. Simmons
Mike F. Martelli
Robbie Cheadle
Lauren Scott
Miriam Hurdle
Mabel K wong
Marsha Ingrao
Cade Prior

This Is How We Grow is available on Amazon & Kindle

Closing note, I am getting caught up on some of my other projects (whew) and I hope to have more blogging time in autumn. I sure miss my blog routine and I look forward to connecting more soon.

In the meantime, I hope that everyone has a great rest of the week. 🙂

.

.

.

.

.

.

.


12 thoughts on “THIS IS HOW WE GROW – Review by Carol Balawyder

  1. Carol wrote a lovely review of all 3 books, and I’m honored that Ever So Gently is one of them, along with This is How We Grow. I look forward to hearing your thoughts, Yvette, and I hope you enjoyed the collection.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much Yvette for a shout out on my post about Three Very Different Books as well as your thoughts on it. So interesting to read. Also, a HUGE thank you for highlighting The Lilac Notebook and Ana Linden’s quote. ❤

    Like

  3. Carol writes a great review, helping people to get a taste of what’s inside, but not giving away too much. She whets a reader’s appetite. Thanks for sharing this, Yvette. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.