Filling the Frame in Alabama (Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #66)

The Lens-Artists Photo Challenge this week invited bloggers to “fill the frame” (here)

For my entry, I have more photos from Alabama. First, this flower from a rest area:

Let’s fill the frame as Patti suggested:

An employee saw me taking a photo of that first flower. She went out of her way to come over and tell us about a butterfly garden in the back of the rest area. I guess one of the employees is a bit of a gardener and he has used his green thumb to create a butterfly garden. 

This is the butterfly garden at the Alabama rest area.
As many know, Becky’s Square challenge theme is “lines” – and the lines of the blooms and butterflies are my contribution this week. 

Also had an insight to share — when I was inspired at the butterfly garden.

As we age, we might not get the former spark that used to come from “new experiences” – some of us might have the “been there and done that” vibe. However, what takes its place can be a deeper sense of awe for the experiences that do come our way. That is what it felt like for me.  I was slightly overwhelmed for a moment. No tears – and not more than ten or fifteen minutes – but stirred and it was a gift from God.

At the butterfly garden was an appreciation for:

  • the kind lady went out of her way to reach out to me – to show me something she thought I would appreciate.
  • Butterflies whizzing by – almost landing on me.
  • Feeling butterflies uninhibited –  thriving in their habitat.Refreshing color and energy.
  • May we all continue to find depth of appreciation as we age. Especially if humdrum surfaces.
Linked to lines and squares: 

Let’s all stay open for times to give – and receive – a nice refreshing spark. And you know – now that I am here creating this post – I realized that many of us do this with our blogs. We reach out to others – we connect through posts – and share parts of our lives…. sharing sparks. 

PEOPLE SHOTS FROM ALABAMA  

This shot was one of my favorite street shots from September 2019 – ALABAMA COWGIRL
Cowgirl is driving – and these two other folks with her were also nice. We chatted inside and outside the gas station. The passenger was jamming (really loud) to the song “I keep on Loving You” by Reba (here). I only remember the name because the lyrics reminded me of REO’s Keep on Loving youhere

Looking Up in Alabama:

Isn’t the light nice here? And the lines? And see that Alabama flag? Well… the insight I had in Alabama reminded me that THE WAY we “fill our frame” changes as we get older. I found that- when I had the “been there, done that” attitude – you know – where the enthusiasm from something seemed lost –  well… it was replaced with a sense of appreciation – deep appreciation — for the not-so-new. With age, we sometimes cultivate more gratefulness for the beautiful moments  and I hope that continues to “fill my frame” as life moves on. 

Winding down this post with a sign for #PROFRIFOLLIES

There are some really mean Alabama jokes out there – and so I am taking the high road and avoiding those, but  did see this funny Alabama post. 

No mushroom hunting? That part reminded me of the “Four Sigmatic” mushroom drink that is popular right now. They are not psychadelic mushrooms; instead – they are immune boosting kind of shrooms’ in a powder – and we know some folks who really like these – but I do not really care for them.  Tried them a few times – and not my kind of beverage. Also, read a review that said you only get trace amounts of the immune boosting properties….

I am linking this drink to Trent’s Weekly Smile –here– because when we tried these last month, I thought of T’s weekend coffee posts (with a smile). Have you tried the Four Sigmatic mushroom drink? Did you notice that the name of this brand has the “force” sound when you say both words? Pretty cool name.

Closing Photos

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To JOIN in with the Lens-Artists Photo Challenge – or to get more info, go here

What has brought you a sense of wonder or appreciation lately? 

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.


86 thoughts on “Filling the Frame in Alabama (Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #66)

  1. I lived in Montgomery Ala for 9 years so yea those picture brought back memories. The first flower we called a spider lily, don’t know if that is the true name or not. You will see them pop up anywhere. The cow girl, yep, its Ala. Great pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alabama looks like a place unto itself. I like cowboy boots, but if it was hot enough outside to be wearing short shorts and a t-shirt would I be likely to wear [hot] cowboy boots– or would I be wearing [cool] sandals? Just saying…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m going to grab a few friends from church and go hunting here. Looks like a great place. And who knows, we may even find some morels. Do think the owner would mind if we park in his driveway? 😉 😀 I wonder if he’d shoot if I went hunting there with the Alabama cowgirl…

    Nice photos. The butterfly garden at the rest area is great.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. That comment was super funny author Trent! Yeah – maybe we could park in the driveway and see if he has any extra hot water for some of the four-sigma shrooms….

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Nora – that was a good question and I assumed all (or most) truffles came from France and Italy – and so I looked it up really quick and there are truffles (some lesser variety from the culinary black and white) found in Oregon and sometimes in the south – near pecan trees. So perhaps – or maybe this estate is growing the psychedelic type (psilocybin)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the butterfly garden Yvette and totally get how special it is to just be amongst nature. Hooray for wonderful people who create such beautiful spaces for nature and humans to connect.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Su – it was so unexpected – I mean – I went back to the garden expecting beauty – but the way it immersed me in a moment of reflection was a surprise….

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful thoughts and images of Alabama. I especially love your image of the cowgirl and the butterfly garden and your thoughts: “THE WAY we “fill our frame” changes as we get older. I found that- when I had the “been there, done that” attitude … it was replaced with a sense of appreciation – deep appreciation — for the not-so-new. With age, we sometimes cultivate more gratefulness for the beautiful moments and I hope that continues to “fill my frame” as life moves on.” Very true. A great way to appreciate those wonderful, unexpected moments–like the butterfly garden.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hint…. I went to visit the area where the Woodstock festival was held in bethel NY – and you were sorta with me a few times

        Like

  6. I enjoyed your series of photos and your insight moment. I agree with you – and I think that as we age it is important to take the time to stop and appreciate what IS. Younger years were busier and narrowly focused (perhaps). Giving ourselves permission to appreciate moments now is key.
    Butterflies are kind of magical, don’t you think? It is fascinating to me to see how many people submitted butterfly photos for this challenge (myself included). You have to stop and be patient to get a picture of one. That slowing down thing again. 🙂
    I’ve never been to Alabama, but your photos have given me a taste!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really like how you worded your comment because that was what I was getting at – a dropper appreciation for what IS (when Novelty no longer kicks in) and you added more insight as well.
      Also / I still making rounds on the entries so I have not seen all the entries yet – but I did like your butterflies and I will go and check the rest out –/ peace

      Liked by 1 person

  7. These Alabama-ians are are uh interesting. Due to my impressive hairstyle I have been called a mushroom head, thus it may be dangerous for me in the vicinity of that sign… lovely broad spectrum of photos and thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment – I am catching up on comments and wow to reading that you went to school in Alabama 😉
      I nEVER would have guessed that (and they sure have good football eh)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha! And A did learn me some Sudern. Yes ma’am. Ah du. 🙂 (And with a ‘Bama accint to boot)
        (First 2-3 weeks of class were hard with some teachers. I thought I spoke English, but it took me a while to get the rhythm)
        Ye be good naw ye hear. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Oh my goodness I am still in a little shock that you ya e all this Alabama culturing – I see you as Europe and would have put you with New York vibes – and so the Bama experiences only adds to your depth of experiences that underpin your street art and other blog posts

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The South was a great experience. We had incredible teachers. Made great friends. And it definitely gives me another vision of the South. Oh I love Bluegrass too. 😉
        New York? Of course. Spent 3 months there after Grad school trying to get a job in the middle of a crisis. And I go back regularly. I’m a fan of New York. San Francisco too.
        Take care.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I really enjoyed your butterfly garden pics. I am glad you mentioned the “Four Sigmatic coffee drinks.” I have been curious about them and almost ordered an assortment pack when we were in AZ, but I never got around to it. I have been seeing it in all the health food stores around here. Glad that I haven’t been missing out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi A…. my son seems to like the four sigma shroom beverage and has been drinking them for a while – and we recently were at a place where they had lots to try free – the first time I added too much water – but then even with getting that right I just did not like it – but we are all so different eh?

      Liked by 1 person

  9. That was nice of her to tell to go see butterflies in the back garden. I think that is kindness that makes your day.

    You are right the spark as you say it about new experience can be replaced by deeper enjoyment instead. I think the later makes you appreciate it much deeper.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Your butterflies and blooms are beautiful Yvette, but your takeaway from the experience and kindness were equally beautiful. How kind of the woman to share the garden and its treasures with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for catching the details linda! And when I returned to our truck – I went back in and gave her one of the towels I was bringing my stepdaughter – as a way to say thanks

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A kindness repaid in a kindness … man, if not most, people think kindness is monetary and don’t always “get” that shared experiences or giving of oneself is so much richer. Have a good day Yvette.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh this is so true… lovely words and fabulous lines. Thank you for sharing, and for ‘sparking’ kindness, creativity and a moment to reflect.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I love how your thoughts fluttered from inspiration to inspiration. Butterflies on zinnias are so fun to watch. Way to fist bump with a fellow lover of flowers and butterflies. That’s one scary guy with a gun warning sign. You find such interesting things to post about – thank you for sharing with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for the encouraging comment this morning – nice way to start the day.
      Oh and the metaphor of ideas fluttering like the butterflies was pretty awesome – 🦋💡💡🦋

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Great examples of filling the frame. And I think you’re right about the age factor. We see things so many times over the years that after a while they become commonplace, so it’s good to take a closer look or view them from a different angle once in a while, in photography and in life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment – that was exactly how I was feeling / and I was not too disappointed for the lackluster feel that came from something that 25 years ago was thrilling – but then I realized thrills change – maybe not moved by “new” but now moved by depth and appreciation

      Hope your Friday is going well
      😊🦋

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Sweet home Alabama, where the skies are cooking up butterfly gardens and cowgirls whose smiles behave like tinder.

    I love butterflies, for many reasons. Not the least of which is they always bring to mind the idea of reincarnation. I know, it’s odd. Too many blinded by the light meditation sessions, perhaps.

    Happy Friday!

    PS- No mushroom hunting . . I love that

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey music man sorryless – now I have blinded by the light playing in my head
      And regarding your mention of “sweet home Alabama” – did you know that the welcome sighs for the state now have that phrase – and someone we were with said how honored the band must be to have had a song that successful to impact the state’s welcome signs!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha! That reminds me. The other day I had the Platters “Twilight Time” running through my head all day thanks to a commercial. I mean, I love the song but not on a loop and not all day.

        Truly! Yeah, Lynyrd Skynyrd should be mighty proud. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  15. Love the butterfly garden, Yvette, and you’ve got some gorgeous photos. Over here, there’s a tradition that if a butterfly comes into a room you’re in, it’s the spirit of a departed loved one. That happened on my wedding day, when a butterfly came into the medieval manor’s great hall where we had the service and came right up to me – and it was in the middle of November too, so very unusual! I wondered whether it was my nan giving me her blessing. Either way, a butterfly was a very welcome guest at our small and special gathering. Great post, as always. Have a lovely weekend. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi – that butterfly in November must have felt super special. That is a fun tradition and taps into the mysterious. When my nephew passed away – a few days after his funeral = there were all these birds flying near Niagara Falls and I felt my nephew’s essence – his soul flying free.
      and to think of your nan = heart tug = and just to have such a beautiful nature presence says soemthing abotu the sweet energy in the air at your wedding…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh that’s a beautiful story about the birds, Yvette. I’m sure you were right – a bittersweet message from nature. And yes, there was a sweet energy in the air on our wedding day. For a start, it was 15th November, and it was a beautiful, still and sunny day when the previous and following days were plagued by torrential rain and winds! We were very lucky. 🙂 ❤

        Like

  16. What can I say? Alabama lives up to its reputation? Some of the comments here are hilarious, but your butterfly garden was ever so sublime!

    Like

    1. Hi. there are some mean jokes about Alabama (like everyone gets married to family members and then IQ jokes) and so I liked seeing that the state also has nice people – and those butterflies – 🙂

      Like

  17. My folks lived in Alabama, and we still have their house. I am usually there a couple times a year, but this past year I haven’t made it even once. I need to get there. Thanks for the memories…especially the fern against the brick, my mom always had ferns.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.