65 thoughts on “Walkin’ in DC – Part 3 (2 Generals, people shots, and misc.)

  1. First, I love this new theme – I am right aren’t I, Yvette – it is new? I spent a few days in DC – oh, nearly 40years ago – now that’s a very scary number to have to type! This series has reminded me of that time. Although it was summer then the Washington Monument is always The Monument, isn’t it.

    Like

    1. yes – the washington monument pretty much stays the same – except it might now have a bit more grout and repair work done because it had a double weather assault back in 2011 (hurricane and earthquake damage) – and yes, I changed up the theme – just something fresh for the way spring feels right now – we had such a long and extra snowy winter – April has been absolutely refreshing. thanks for dropping by xxoo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. well Jill, actually I was surprised to learn that DC gets hit with a quake an average of
        every six years “The area has been struck by tremors of magnitude 2.5 and above six times since 1974”
        here is a map

        and in the US there are 16 States with a high risk (Alaska, Arkansas, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Kentucky, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming) –
        – check out this article (when you have a chance) http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/earthquake-strikes-virginia-dangerous-us-fault-lines/story?id=14364861

        Like

    1. Thanks for dropping by Sylvia – and I will join you on that “special” ride – and we can talk about special things – like art, florida birds, and old kitchen knives that have been handed down thru generations

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I just love traveling to DC with you! Those are fun shots of the three girls. I was having such fun until I ran into the IRS. Shivers down my spine! I noticed your earthquake map in the comments. Hmm, think I’ll stay in FL! πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. oh you are so funny – and thanks for joining my on my last walk in DC (for now at least) – and I just think it is funny how we always think of California for quakes – when there are other fault lines that are very active – TTYS

      Liked by 1 person

    1. oh thanks sue – and that was just my hubs – he stepped over me when I was on the ground trying to get the up view – but it does have that spooky feel – πŸ™‚ –

      Like

  3. All are special again, Y, but you have my heart with one General specifically. That would be Casimir Pulaski, he who saved our George Washington in their day, and thus a hero to the Polish pocket of Greenpoint in the Brooklyn to which I was born. In fact, I recall marching in the Pulaski Day Parade with my father and his father as part of the Men’s Club that was housed in the basement of St. Stan’s Church — St. Stanislaus, where they said the Mass in Polish, too, back in the 1960s, before Pop Pop Bialczak passed away and we stopped marching in the Pulaski Day Parade. Thanks for these photos of his D.C. tribute, which brought back my memories that were stowed four decades into my past, as my dad is gone 11 years now, too. ❀

    Like

    1. oh mark – this tugged at my heart in three ways – I will share that later – but how cool about the parade and all that. ❀ ❀ – and they have a pulsaki club down in FL that we went to a couple of times – (amazing polish food and music) it was in 2001 and I was feeling homesick and I was trying to take advantage of local things to get acclimated. anyhow, the MOST refreshing part of the most recent trip was NOT seeing Civil War monuments – because it is everywhere here in RVA – πŸ™‚ ttyl

      Like

      1. oh stop! now you are teasing me -that is a deal – but can we still stick to Italian wine? and here is a picture of the freshly made pierogies my brother brought up on one of his visits from WNY – (on an old school Mikasa dish my husband’s Aunt Gayle gave us in the 90’s)- mmm

        Like

      2. The pierogi and the plate are both perfectly colored, Y! Just the right amount of brown. Italian wine and Polish food sound like a fine time to me, Y. Mmmmmm.

        Like

  4. Another great post, Lady BlueSki! Enjoyed all images and was really touched by the story of Casimir Pulaski. Thank you for another walk with you. (((HUGS))) Lady PinkSki ❀

    Like

    1. Thanks so much ❀ – and taking that shot of the PA is how I met Mrs. Holmes – I was just looking up – and she offered to take a shot of me in front of it – but I declined cos I would rather pose with CO or NY – but then we started talking and really clicked – so this up view of PA is special <3<3 thanks again Doda and see u soon.

      Like

  5. Love the way you have caught the spirit of a vibrant city, a sense of fun and happiness comes through in your people portraits. We were there in 1991, such an interesting place

    Like

    1. well thanks so much Christy – and inserting the round photos was more a way of being efficient – because I am keeping a master folder of my street shots and I would like one single image for each “one” or group” – and so by adding a few smaller pics like this – it allows me to have a few pics (for the vibe I want to recall) and still have a single image (if that makes sense) – xxoo

      Like

  6. Yvette, I love this series you’ve done on DC. And your photos are fabulous! We used to live there early in our careers, so this summer we went back for a month to revisit old faves and discover new ones. What a wonderful month it was. Thanks for capturing it so beautifully. πŸ™‚ ~Terri

    Like

    1. Hi terri – sounds like you know DC so well – and I bet having a month to visit and catch up was nice. Also thanks for your feedback – we have only made it to DC for the blooms one other time – it is a hard window to catch with schedules and mother nature – so it really was a treat – thanks again πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. You’re just quite the traveller, aren’t you. Florida, and now DC? I would love to travel with my family from my home town, Vancouver, Canada, down through the USA, Central and South America. Last stop, of course, being Brazil. My hubby and I have this dream to do it by motor home, or some type of vehicle. Who knows? Maybe one day.
    What is that long white monument in one of your pictures here above? It reminds me of the ‘Ubilisco’ in Buenos Aires.
    πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi Stac – your road trip sounds awesome – and like it goes through some beautiful parts of the world – ❀ – and I actually do not "love" traveling – I find it very tiring and we all know it can add up $$. And even though I am also grateful for the rich experiences – we all know there is a trade off. And there have been some years when I wish we could have traveled (and need to – like in 2006) but we found ways to explore locally – and just made it work because such are the seasons of life… anyhow, I do feel very blessed with the trips we are able to squeeze in -thx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, as a YWAMer, traveling has been a huge part of my life in the past 15 years. It can seem all romantic at first, but then you can’t wait to have your own place where you can do as you like and sleep in your own bed, etc.
        πŸ™‚

        Like

  8. P: I saw all your DC posts, and I must say these are some breathtaking pictures. I see your obsession with Washington Monument and no two pictures looked alike unsurprisingly. My favorite is the one where the Monument is partly obscured by a tree at night. Some of the people pictures and your descriptions are so real that you make a reader like me become a part of your larger vision. Keep it up, my friend.

    Like

  9. Great to see more wonderful images of your DC tour. I especially love your photo of the IRS building the shadow. Very arty! Love. And was very moved by the images you captured of the monuments that remember our heroes.

    Like

  10. I’ll take the Special bus, maybe it’s going somewhere cool! I miss DC, especially the metro – and the museums, the Hirschorn is awesome, I totally agree Yvette! Great photos, lovely memories! ❀❀❀;^)

    Like

    1. Thanks Aisha = and nice to see you my friend ❀
      I also forgot that so much of this east coast area is part of your old stomping grounds – and I want to ride that "Special" bus too –

      Like

    1. thanks for dropping by Indah – and I am not sure how we ended up talking – but there was a lot of chatter among the folks in this area at the base off the monument. There was some steam coming up from the grill area (my photos did not come out of that though) but a group was talking about the steam too.
      have a nice day and c u soon amiga

      Like

  11. HI! I’m one of the girls that you took those pictures of next to the Washington Memorial! Its so great to see them up here, the other pictures are simply gorgeous too! I was also wondering, if you could send me the pictures you have us via email?

    Like

Leave a Reply

