Walkin’ in DC – Part 2 – PEOPLE

For my walkin’ in DC Part 2, I have 14 “people” photos. In a few pics, I have shared some thoughts on getting along with “people” –  because as annoying as some people can be – relationships are what makes our life come alive!  If you do not have time to read, please feel free to just skim the photos.

updated collage

a phone booth still around in 2015
He is paying at a machine for his parking spot, but from this angle it looks like one of the old pay phones that used to be everywhere-  Times sure have changed – instead of stopping to use a pay phone, most of us we carry “computer phones” in our pockets.

 

ballons on the metro
A lady was riding the Metro with bagged balloons.  I was marveling at how DC people “get around” using the Metro as their main transportation. I also wondered where she would gently unwrap those fun balloons. As she sat resting her free hand on her head-  I was reminded of the little things we do in order to “give to” and “celebrate with” people.

 

lady that reminds me of coconut
Do you see this lady in the center right – with the brown boots, tan coat, and bun in her hair? She reminded me of Modigliani’s woman, Jeanne, who was nicknamed “Coconut” because she wore a similar “coconut looking” bun in her long brown hair. I was reminded of how Modigliani’s manager, Zborowski, was hoping that Coconut would help “reform Modigliani’s disorderly existence” – and she did somewhat – because she brought much “completeness” and satisfaction into his life.  Jeanne and Modigliani both died way too young, but it is an example of how sometimes certain people come into our life with just the right chemistry to where it is a major gift. 

 

lady in dc
I love this shot of a lady taking a photo of the Washington Monument – because she makes the boots look good!

 

people of dc lady with silver shoes
This lady was wearing silver shoes and a pink skirt. I exchanged eye contact with this woman, and she actually first seemed to be checking out my sneakers!  I am not sure what she was thinking, or what her work in DC really was, but this photo is another one of those photos that leaves me wondering about a person’s story. And as T Daniels would say, We all have a story.
people of dc lady 4 - holding up monument
This lady is posing to make it look like she is holding up the monument and I think her photographer took hundreds of shots! I like this photo for her smile, for the people scattered in the back, and for the pale pink blossoms. For those that do not know, back in 1912, Japan’s Mayor Ozaki gave the U.S. 3,000 cherry trees, also called Sakura.  These gifted trees reminded me how “gifts” can be the sweetest part of enjoying life with people.  The right gift can assuage and enrich relations – not the gifts that try to buy affection – not bribes or the sucking up gifts – but gifts from the heart!  Whether it is country to country or friend to friend – the right gift at the right time can be oh so special.  These D.C. blossoms are actually “friendship trees” – and If you have time, check out Celia’s photos of Japan’s 2015 blossoms HERE

 

pilot on metro
I ended up talking to this couple on the right. I had to sit in front of them because someone with “cheap” perfume sat down beside me and it was so strong you could taste it.  I also have been watching some of the episodes of the TV series called “Air Disasters” – and so sharing a smile with this master pilot was nice too.

 

people of DC - helpful guy
The workers in DC are quite pleasant.

 

dc trash
Where there are people – there is mess – but it can be cleaned and managed.  DC has an efficient way of managing trash. And yes, there is life lesson here – because relationships can (and will) get messy, but when we learn “how” to effectively manage mess – we will have more success. This involves problem solving, serving, withdrawing, waiting, trying, discussing, assessing, and investing time and effort to each changing relationship. Managing “people mess” may also involve knowing when to draw good boundaries (so you don’t “cast your pearls before swine”).  Drawing appropriate boundaries can sometimes allow much-needed space to grow or heal. Sometimes we only hear advice about giving and giving – and how we need to make the big sacrifice because “hurt people hurt people” -and while this is true many times – it is also true that sometimes we might need to pull back or even cut ties (for good or for a while). 

 

dc-5-capitol streets closed
Do you see this single person walking?  Well this reminded me of how solitude is not the same thing as loneliness – and how sometimes the best way we get along with other people is by having the right amount of solitude to recharge and refresh our own batteries (we have to tend to our needs in order to have something to give). 
photographer taking photos in washington dc
Man. Man with camera. Man with camera with nice lens. Man with camera with nice lens takes very nice night photos. 
two guys walking path in dc
I love this shot of two guys walking on the open path – after the rain at sunset – and surrounded by trees.  DC can be crowded, but look at all this elbow room! I also like the vertical lines in this shot.  Notice how the two guys have leg positions that match – the branches have a right flow, and the arch of the path has four sections in a left flow- with a pair of empty benches that informally balance with the pair of trees on the left and two walkers.

 

communcation on manhole cover
This manhole cover says “Communication” and I am including it with my “DC people post” because all relationships benefit from good communication – cliché, but true.  Do do not forget that this applies to communicating with ourselves – – we need to watch the negative/unhelpful thoughts we entertain in our head. Also, side note – about ten years ago one of the most popular job interview questions was, “Why are Manhole Covers Round?” I heard that some employers are not necessarily looking for a right or wrong answer; instead, they want to see “how” a person responds.  And so just in case you get asked this question, here are some reasons: A round cover doesn’t fall through the circular opening and they fit back on with less adjusting that other shapes; circles resist earth compression; circular covers used to be easier to make; and circle manhole covers can be rolled, making them easier to transport.

 

 

 

washington monument with tree lines
The Washington Monument has a proud presence in DC, which takes on different moods at different times.  Isn’t that a lot like relationships too?  Relationships are not always static, and as we develop tighter bonds with people, sometimes it helps if we see something from a different angle – or revisit issues with freshness at a different time.  Some people are harder to get along with, some grate on us, and of course we will NOT have chemistry with everyone (and oh the joy that comes with being able to really accept that without taking it personal – it really is okay – and natural – to not have everyone like you). However, for those that are in our lives – either the inner or outer social circles – with a little effort – we CAN enrich relations – it might just take a fresh view or a new approach.

 

Have a nice day and if you are in the mood for an old school song, H E R E is a link to Triumph singing “Fight the Good Fight”

 

And if you have not had your fill of cherry blossoms yet – the link to the Washington DC Live WEB Cam is HERE

Mark’s cherry blossom post is HERE

And Radical Ramblings has an amazing single photo up view of white cherry blossoms, with a nice poem by A. E. Housman HERE

“About the woodlands I will go

To see the cherry hung with snow.”

 

 

 

 


69 thoughts on “Walkin’ in DC – Part 2 – PEOPLE

    1. look forward to seeing u when you return – and I think I will have one more DC post (and thanks for saying that 🙂 – safe travels my friend 💐

      Like

  1. I hope everybody takes the time to read your tale as well as appreciate your photographs, Y. You have a wise way at looking at people, yourself and life. The way you merge your pictures and your ideas show well how the ways in which one considers and employs distance and communication mean so much in the appreciation of life … and our hits, misfires and recalculations, too. You’ve produced an artful, provocative and thought-provoking post from our capital, my friend. And thank you for the link to my photo post, again, Y. Have a great Sunday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Marky Mark – and I actually read your comment twice and find I am still soaking it up – I also was thinking of you yesterday when I took a photo of our cherry tree. my husband said it reminds him of Lisa and bart simpson – because it never seems to age! lol – it has been the almost the same size for years now….

      Like

      1. That’s a good one from your hubby about the cherry tree and the Simpson kids, Y. Ha! Compliments from up here on the analogy.

        And I’m very honored that you can feel from my comment what reached me deep down about your post this morning.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You’ve captured great photos! Especially the girl in the pink skirt and silver shoes…
    And those balloons in the subway… They must have been for an important party: )
    Have a great Sunday!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the link! A great set of photos and linking text (or is it the other way round?) And thanks for the information about the gifting of the cherry trees from Japan in 1912 – never knew that.

    Like

    1. sorry to just get this comment – and my pleasure- and nice to meet u thru mark’s blog – and someone else told me that after Japan gave us trees – we spent them a bunch of Dogwoods – and then in 2011

      “2011: Approximately 120 Propagates from the surviving 1912 trees around the Tidal Basin were collected by NPS Horticulturists and sent back to Japan to the Japan Cherry Blossom Association to retain the genetic lineage. Through this cycle of giving, the cherry trees continue to fulfill their role as a symbol and as an agent of friendship.” (from here)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your posts leave me reflecting Y. I am thinking the girl with the shoes was coveting your sneakers. My feet hurts just looking at hers. Did you notice her calves .Me thinks she is a runner or cyclist.
    Your posts on DC make me think “Why has this destination not been on our radar?” Thank you for leaving me intrigued and wanting more. 🙂

    Like

    1. sneaker envy – I love it! and I know someone else who has calves like that – you! – I bet you are right about the run/bike – or maybe aerobics or a walker. I still ponder the look we exchanged – there was some message – but not sure what…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I do have some crazy calves. My quads are like toothpicks and apparently my calves are doing all the work! What fun it would be to know what she was thinking. On the other hand fun to imagine. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Fabulous, Yvette! I love how you’ve tied in all your photos with life and living itself! The picture of the lady with the wrapped balloons is fun and thought-provoking! Talk about the basis for a story! Have a wonderful coming week! 😀 ❤

    Like

  6. Lady BlueSki, this IMO is one of your prized posts. The wisdom in this post, your deep observation skills, the way you spoke about relationships, I totally soaked up. I found some wisdom in your words for what I am walking through right now. Thank you. Your Washington Monument photo blew me away. All of your images have a gentleness to them, as your words spoken so quietly, yet with authority. Wonderful post, my friend. I’m glad I took the time to read it through slowly. I’ve gained some new perspectives about a complex situation in my Life. Bless you!!! I really really enjoyed this! Love, Lady RoseSki ❤

    Like

    1. well thanks for this rich comment lady rose-ski – and I extra appreciate it because this evolved – and would you believe I actually had a list of “tips for teens” at the end – but it was cut pretty easily – just did not fit! I also sat down thinking I was going to share mr and mrs homes – and general Pulaski – but the people post unfolded – which as you know – is part of why we blog – it is an art outlet as we share the essence of ourselves for that particular day… thx again – ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. well that made my night dear lady-rose-ski – and I already feel like I owe you a dedication of some sorts from your “splash of love” last September – and so when I get this book draft going I might have to mention you in the dedication page – along with a few others
        xxoo – and thanks for that ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    1. thanks so much Helen – and here is another version of that image – as it shows how large the tree was in front of it – a winter tree waiting to bud after the cheery blossoms get done with their spring spectacle

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I am a visual person and the images here got better and better as I scrolled through the post. My favorites were the single person walking, the two men walking, the Communication manhole cover and most of all, that absolutely fabulous shot of the Washington Monument. Nice work.

    Like

    1. thanks so much Lisa – and I love hearing favorites because it helps me get to know a blogger more – it really does – and sometimes it is fun to see if everyone likes a certain one more-= like the last monument one – I have to come to like it a bit more – (feels almost halloween like) – and side note – here is the communication word a little closer – I messed around with the 2 photos I have of this “communication cover”

      Like

  8. Such an interesting post Y I love your thoughtful and thought provoking comments with the photos, they take my eye to some of the details I may miss. People are always interesting. I would also love to hear the story of the lady in the silver shoes

    Like

  9. Thank you for the mention!! Hehe, I enjoyed reading your ‘people watching’. I have the same curious nature about people, but moreso about the relationship between a pair or group, like how do they know each other, are they siblings, colleagues, new acquaintances, things like that!

    Like

      1. :0 – and guess what – my azaleas just came in bloom this last day or so – a little later than some other years – and spring is truly in the air

        Liked by 1 person

  10. (EN) Your mind and your eyes are rich of creativity. Not simply a woman,path or tree but a story behind it.It’s nice the way you” watch the life movie” 😉 Thanks 🙂
    (IT) La tua mente e i tuoi occhi sono ricchi di creativitá. Non semplicemente una donna, un vialetto, un albero ma una storia dietro. È carino il modo in cui “guardi il film della vita” 😉 Grazie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. (EN) Wonderful Y and your will of learning ,Thanks 🙂 … I too learn from you 😉
        (IT) Meravigliosa Y e la tua volontá di imparare. Grazie :-)… Anch’io imparo da te 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  11. “relationships are what makes our life come alive!”
    –We were made for them, right?
    Good stuff. And I think I found my answer to the question I posed in the last post I commented on. The monument one.
    🙂

    Like

    1. yes, it is the Washington Monument – and here are 5 facts:
      1. This monument in DC was opened to the public on October 9, 1888.
      2. It took a century to plan and construction of it ran into budget shortfalls, a civil war, and bickering – also so many years passed – the line in the middle shows where construction stopped and then started yet again – and in the end it was made out of mixed materials of more than “36,000 stones of Marble , Granite, and Sandstone”
      3. It is 555 tall and 55 feet wide at base- it looks much different than the architect’s (Robert Mill) original design – it was supposed to have a pantheon (a temple-like building) at the base of a 600-foot-tall Egyptian obelisk (something like that)
      4. It has 897 stairs (and an elevator) and from the top – you can see over 30 miles.
      Lastly – from this site here:
      5. In 2001, a 5.8-magnitude earthquake led to 150 cracks, which cost 15 million to repair and tidbit of history:
      “The speaker of the House basically predicted an earthquake more than a century ago. Rep. Robert Winthrop, a guest at the 1848 cornerstone dedication ceremony, proclaimed, “The storms of winter must blow and beat upon it … the lightnings of Heaven may scar and blacken it. An earthquake may shake its foundations … but the character which commemorates and illustrates it is secure.”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. well thanks for dropping by – and I guess it was just one of those projects that got interrupted for more than 100 years – and becomes a symbol of maybe “never giving up on a project” – ttys ❤

        Like

    1. thanks so much Naomi! and I actually started to add some thoughts to the part 3 post – but I stopped because it felt like it needed to be “quiet” – and not sure why, but I like to go with my gut. anyhow, thanks again for taking the time to check out the DC posts – ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Can’t stop, Yvette! Got to go see the Cherry Blossoms 🙂 But that last shot of the Monument is out of this world! Happy weekend, hon. I know you’ll make it so! 🙂

    Like

  13. You are a wonderful writer, Yvette! Everything flows from caption to cation… And your people mess choice of words and the description was nicely done. Loved your final night shot of the monument. BTW, that photographer was either shooting low level or macro; odd tripod!

    Like

  14. I really like the shot of the 2 people walking in the sunset in DC…. and Im wondering about the lady with the pink skirt and silver heels too! I didn’t know the cherry blossoms in DC were a gift from Japan. How interesting! Visiting Japan during the sakura blossoms is one of my bucket list goals. And Celia’s post is excellent! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Kan – me too – I would love to see Japan at that time – or I could handle going there to ski. I follow this lady blogger who just went to japan on a ski trip and it was just a blast seeing her posts – anyhow, that lady still makes me wonder too – and thanks for your feedback

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

