Triple Shot Friday – key lime pie talk

Today’s post is about key lime pie.

First:

We ordered some of the “Key West Key Lime Pie” that was featured in the final episode of The Profit last month.  It is delicious. The pale color is as natural as can be – (tip – if you ever get “green” key lime pie it is not authentic and has dye added) – Well the Key Lime Pie Company’s recipe has a mix of sweet and tart that is balanced so well.  We shared some of the pie (and pie-sicles) with a couple of neighbors – and so next week I will share a bit more feedback  – but wow – how cool to live in a day and age where we can have fresh pie shipped like this.

key lime pie - 2- priorhouse 2014
Looking up and looking down at our key lime pie

 

key lime pie collage 2 - priorhouse2014
My younger son grabbed some shots for me with his iPhone.

 

 

 SECOND:

Did you know that there was a record breaking key lime pie that was 8 feet in diameter? It took “6,000 key limes, 200 pounds of graham crackers, and 55 gallons of sweetened condensed milk to make”  – Click on photo for more info.

KWP01web

 

THIRD:

Jill recently commented on the Kenny Chesney song I shared (thanks Jill) and well, someone then emailed me that Kenny also has an older song about key lime pie.  Also, I guess a few years ago Kenny took his grandmother on her first airplane ride -and guess where they went?  They flew to Key West for some key lime pie (info here).

kenny chesney tales his mom and granmom to florida keys for pie - priorhouse2014
Kenny Chesney and his mother take grandmother to Florida for key lime pie.

 

Well here is the key lime pie song:

 

Now I will NOT be adding the key lime pie song to any of my playlists, but here is a Kenny Chesney song that I will keep on an old play list, it is called “Somewhere With You”:

 

 

 

Well have a great weekend and I will be back on Monday.

~~~

Also, Happy Mother’s Day to all the mommas out there.  

 “A mom’s hug lasts long after she lets go.” — Unknown

 

~~~

This is linked to Debbie’s Look up – look down challenge – week 38 – go here for mas


36 thoughts on “Triple Shot Friday – key lime pie talk

    1. haha – thanks for dropping by – and doesn’t the color look perfect in that pie. that pale – almost white color – perfect.

      well I am totally looking forward to reading some of your past blog posts (and pie reviews) – can’t wait til next week when I have some time to do just that. so I might be leaving a few comments on different posts – okay? and 3 cheers to key lime pie….. mmmm

      Like

      1. It’s positively… pristine 😉

        Well, I’m certainly not one to complain about comments – there’s always plenty of banter going on, which is one of the main reasons I love blogging.

        [P.S. Glad to see today’s post hasn’t put you off – it’s not gone down all that well with my clientele, I fear. Several have turned veggi, and some seem to have gone on a diet…]

        Like

      2. no I was not put off at all by your post (http://ladyofthecakes.wordpress.com/2014/05/15/i-spy-i-spy-with-my-little-eye/)
        well the item on the right is a bit ulgh – but the classic butcher shop (I heard) used to have the best cuts of meat ever – and I kind of wish we had those around these days.

        But I really believe the human body needs a certain amount of quality meat – not slime or cuts that are filled with nitrate crap – and not 24 ounces of steak in one sitting – but our body needs some meat – I truly believe it.

        and have you heard this one…

        “If God did not want us to eat animals well then why did he make them out of meat?”
        ha!

        Like

    1. well as you go looking – just keep this in mind – NOT all key lime pie is created equal – and actually some is quite horrid!! and what started a lot of the key lime talk in my life was watching the final season of a show I really like from CNBC – called The Profit – and the season 2 finale was all about this yummy goodness:

      http://www.keylimepieco.com

      anyhow – happy exploring –

      Like

Leave a Reply

